Newbury RC (90 rider max)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 12-May-24
  • Time: 08:00
  • Distance: 25 Miles
  • Course: H25/1A
  • Closing Date: 03-May-24 23:59
  • Categories:
    • All Youth
    • All Junior
    • All Espoir
    • All Senior
    • All Veteran
    • All Para

Newbury 25 victories for Clifford and James

  • Published: 12 May 24
  • Written By: Snowdon Sports
F | T | G+

Selina Clifford (London Dynamo) was the only lady to go under the hour mark, while Hadyn James (BPC Bioflow RT) was fastest in the open category with a course record time at the Newbury Road Club’s 25-mile event in Berkshire on Sunday morning.

Clifford, 38 and from London, clocked 59-10 to take the win on the day by 50 seconds from Sarah Matthews (a3crg), while Newbury Velo’s Kerry Hickson was another 24 seconds back in third.

James set a time of 49-15 for the H25/1a course near Aldermaston, slicing 51 seconds off the three-year-old course record held previously by Richard Pywell.

On the day James was 1-04 faster than runner-up Peter Allan (Team Velo Sportif), while third was Howard Bayley (a3crg) with 51-14.

“The course and conditions were perfect for a fast race and so I was very happy to go sub one hour and clinch the win,” said Selina Clifford afterwards. “Thanks to Newbury RC for putting on a great race and to the marshals on the course. The bell ringing, clapping and good atmosphere definitely all helped!”

And new course record holder Hadyn James said: “I had a good ride and although there was quite a bit of traffic, it seemed have helped me where it hindered others. I picked up the pace throughout and felt like I left it all out there!”

There was also a great performance from the Newbury Velo tandem pairing of Ian Greenstreet and Rachael Elliott who clocked 50-20, just six seconds away from breaking their own course record from 12 months ago.

GS Stella veteran Dave Dent was quickest on a road bike in 58-39, while Les Liddiard (GS Vecchi) was runner-up in that category with 1-02-54. Fastest female on a road bike was Sien Van der Plank (New Forest CC) with 1-04-55.

The H25/1a course uses the A4, tracking from the start near Aldermaston Wharf down to the outskirts of Thatcham, before heading back up to the junction with the A340 near Theale, back down to Thatcham and back again, finishing near the start on the final pass.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.




1. Hadyn James (BPC Bioflow RT)   49.15

2. Peter Allan (Team Velo Sportif)      50.19

3. Howard Bayley (a3crg)       51.14

4. Karl Norris (360 VRT)       51.43

5. Tom Clements (Poole Wheelers)    51.44

6. Jeremy Redford (Army Cycling)    52.24


1. Selina Clifford (London Dynamo) 59.10

2. Sarah Matthews (a3crg)      1:00.00

3. Kerry Hickson (Newbury Velo)      1:00.24

4. Ashia Reeder (Pronto Bikes)          1:01.09

5. Jo Wilkie (Cheltenham & County CC)       1:01.38

6. Teresa Robbins (Reading CC)        1:04.04

Tandems: Rachael Elliott and Ian Greenstreet (Newbury Velo)         50.20