Sussex CA (Inc. VTTA Surrey/Sussex Championship)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 23-Jun-24
  • Time: 06:30
  • Distance: 50 Miles
  • Course: G50/10
  • Closing Date: 11-Jun-24 23:59
  • Categories:
    • All Youth
    • All Junior
    • All Espoir
    • All Senior
    • All Veteran
    • All Para

Freeman and Wright on form in Sussex CA 50

  • Published: 24 Jun 24
  • Written By: Snowdon Sports
F | T | G+
Pat Wright

Pat Wright (Paceline RT) and Gemma Freeman (Sussex Revolution VC) took advantage of near perfect conditions as they rode to victories in the Sussex Cycling Association 50-mile time trial on Sunday.

Almost windless and sunny warm conditions greeted the riders to the event near Dial Post in West Sussex, which next year will host the Veterans TTA National 50-Mile Championship in the centenary year of the Sussex CA.

Wright covered the course in 1-48-25 to win by almost five minutes from Brighton Mitre CC’s Chris Coxon on his road bike, barely 12 hours after riding the Cambridge CC Viking 50-mile event.

Third spot went to Oliver Waymark of Total Tri Training in a personal best time of 1-53-26, while Freeman clocked 2-10-35 as the only female rider to take part.

“It was a lovely morning... sunny and dry with little wind,” reported winner Pat Wright. “I think conditions were slightly faster at last year’s event but yesterday's were great in all honesty.

“This is an excellent and varied course with a bit of everything. I was happy with my ride and always nice to get the win.

“Cris Coxon coming second was super impressive given then he had ridden a 1:38 in the Cambridge CC 50 the previous afternoon and was also on his road bike on Sunday morning! Next up for me should be Southern Counties CCU 100 and Sussex CA 30 in July.”

Addiscombe CC won the team award by more than 20 minutes from Brighton Mitre CC with two riders very close to beating two hours, impressive on a course with more than 1700 feet of climbing, mostly in the second half.  Graham Lane, 2:00:16, led Jim Burdett, 2:01:09 and were backed by Jonathan Pontin, 2:11:22.

Past winner Dave Pollard, the victory in 1999 and 2000, was ninth this time in 2:00:33 and Mark Jones (GS Stella) with six wins between 1980 and 1997, was 13th in 2:04:46.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.




1     Pat Wright                  Paceline RT                    1:48:25

2     Cris Coxon                 Brighton Mitre CC               1:53:22

3     Oliver Waymark             Total Tri-Training                1:53:36

4     Karl Roberton             Worthing Excelsior CC            1:54:29

5     Paul Tippett               Destination Bike RT              1:56:44

6     Paul Thatcher             Brighton Mitre CC               1:57:31


Women: Gemma Freeman           Sussex Revolution VC          2:10:35

Team: Addiscombe CC (Graham Lane, Jim Burdett, Jonathan Pontin)         6:12:47