City Road Club (Hull)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 29-Mar-24
  • Time: 10:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: V714
  • Closing Date: 19-Mar-24 23:59
  • Categories:
    • All Youth
    • All Junior
    • All Espoir
    • All Senior
    • All Veteran
    • All Para

City Road Club (Hull) 10 success for Graves and Grogan

  • Published: 31 Mar 24
  • Written By: Snowdon Sports
F | T | G+
Philip Graves

Philip Graves triumphed in a remarkably close finish in the open category at the City Road Club (Hull) 10-mile time trial that saw the top three separated by just three seconds, while Beth Grogan finished as quickest female.

Riding for Clifton CC, Graves set 20-35 to snatch victory by just two seconds from Team Bottrill’s Benjamin Williams in 20-37, who in turn was just a second ahead of Sheffrec CC rider Tomas Lee who took the final podium spot in 20-38 but who would’ve taken victory but for a 30-second late start.

This was Graves’ first event since the same time trial last year, in which he placed second.

He said: “It’s always a pleasure to enter the City RC Good Friday 10, it’s a must do race and last year was the only open race I entered.

It’s an essential part of Easter and I will always support it whenever I can.

“I haven’t done much racing on the road in recent times so just wanted a blow out and have a bit of fun so to come away with the win was a great way to start the long weekend.

“It was a tough day with a nagging southerly breeze and with a 10 second stop at the roundabout at half way it was more sheer dumb luck I came out with the win.

“Hopefully I will get round to entering more than the one open TT this year!”

In the road bike category, Albarosa CC’s Jonathan Motteram clocked 22-04 to take first place with a time of 22-36 helping Joe House (Venture Racing) to second, and Sumon Butteriss (Ely & District CC/B&T) taking third spot in 22-52.

Grogan, riding for Selby CC, was quickest woman in 24-36 to claim the Club Trophy, ahead of Samantha Bissell, riding for the promoting club, in 25-37, while Kirstie Drakeford (Jadan Vive Le Velo) managed 26-04 for third.

Quickest junior went to Team Bottrill’s Joseph Turnbull in 21-51, while fastest City RC (Hull) rider was Graham Heaton who claimed the club trophy.

This event, run on the V714 course, is an out-and-back circuit that starts east of Howden and heads west on Main Road back towards Howden, turning at the roundabout to retrace the route back past the start and finish just east of Gilberdyke on Main Road.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission. This report by James Ayles.




1. Philip Graves (Clifton CC) 20.35

2. Benjamin Williams (Team Bottrill)             20.37

3. Tomas Lee (Sheffrec CC)   20.38

4. Julian Ramsbotton (Team Bottrill)  20.42

5. Neil Cleminshaw (Vive Le Velo)    20.53

6. Mark Wolstenholme (VTTA Yorkshire)      20.57


1. Beth Grogan (Selby CC)    24.26

2. Samantha Bissell (City Road Club Hull)    25.37

3. Kirstie Drakeford (Jadan Vive Le Velo)     26.04