Port Sunlight Wheelers (WCTTCA 8 of 11)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 29-Jun-24
  • Time: 14:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: D10/25
  • Closing Date: 18-Jun-24 23:59
  • Categories:
    • All Youth
    • All Junior
    • All Espoir
    • All Senior
    • All Veteran
    • All Para

Port Sunlight Wheelers 10 success for Murphy and Hutson-Lumb

  • Published: 30 Jun 24
  • Written By: Snowdon Sports
F | T | G+
Deb Hutson-Lumb

Barry Murphy admitted he was “absolutely delighted” to earn his maiden time trial in the open category at the Port Sunlight 10-mile time trial on Saturday afternoon, with Deb Hutson-Lumb finishing as fastest female.

Riding for Graham Weigh Racing – Deeside Olympic, Murphy set a time of 21-40 to pip clubmate Alan Broadbent to the top spot by 10 seconds.

Third place saw a dramatic tie between James Smith (Chester Road Club) and Steven Fidler (Velo6 Racing) with both posting 22-02 to share the spoils.

After his win, Murphy said: “I’m absolutely delighted to get my first ever win at a CTT event.

“With a number of the local quick riders away I knew there was a chance. And I had some extra motivation as the last time I rode this course I double punctured after hitting a hole in sight of the line.

“A headwind out and tailwind back suited me and to get the win was brilliant, only made better by beating my club mate and TT nemesis Alan Broadbent into second.

“Many thanks to the Port Sunlight Wheelers for putting in a great event and it was really well marshalled and the brownies at HQ were amazing!”

In the women’s event, Hutson-Lumb (Wrekinsport CC) earned a dominant win in 23-47 with second-placed Penny Thorn, riding for the promoting club, clocking 26-39 while a time of 26-11 helped Sally Cunliffe (Velotik Racing Team) to seal the final spot on the podium.

“This was my second race on this course, this time with a strong headwind on the way out but no major traffic issues,” said Hutson-Lumb.

“I managed to pace the ride fairly well and had a good return leg with the tailwind although in hindsight could probably have pushed on more. I am pleased with my result and thanks go to Port Sunlight Wheelers for a great event.”

Fidler was also quickest open category road bike, while Moyna O’Neill was fastest female on a road bike in 32-45.

This event, run on the D10/25 course, is a 10-mile out-and back circuit that starts east of Farndon on Barton Road, before heading west then curving southwest to the Llan-y-pwll roundabout to turn southeast to reach the Hogmore Lane roundabout, then return up the roundabout, then retracing the route back to finish just west of the start on Barton Road on the A534.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission. This report by James Ayles.




1. Barry Murphy (Graham Weigh Racing – Deeside Olympic)         21.40

2. Alan Broadbent (Graham Weigh Racing – Deeside Olympic)       21.50

3. James Smith (Chester Road Club)  22.02

4. Steven Fidler (Velo6 Racing)         22.02

5. Neil Buckley (Port sunlight Wheelers)       22.16

6. Sam Hughes (Liverpool Century Road Club)        22.48

7. Ben Love (Graham Weigh Racing – Deeside Olympic)     23.01

8. Graham Noble (Graham Weigh Racing – Deeside Olympic)         23.33

9. Mark Liptrot (Graham Weigh Racing – Deeside Olympic)            23.34


1. Deb Hutson-Lumb (Wrekinsport CC)        23.47

2. Penny Thorn (Port Sunlight Wheelers)       26.39

3. Sally Cunliffe (Velotik Racing Team)        26.11

4. Janet Fairclough (Liverpool Phoenix CC)  27.36

5. Sharon Clifford (SheHair Racing Team)    21.16

6. Moyna O’Neill (Mersey Tri)           32.45