Bridgnorth CC Hilly 21 (SCCA 5 of 21)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 20-Apr-24
  • Time: 14:00
  • Distance: 21 Miles
  • Course: D21/22
  • Closing Date: 09-Apr-24 23:59
  • Categories:
    • All Youth
    • All Junior
    • All Espoir
    • All Senior
    • All Veteran
    • All Para

Hales and Wells climb to victories in Bridgnorth CC Hilly 21

  • Published: 21 Apr 24
  • Written By: Snowdon Sports
F | T | G+
Tomos Hales

Tomos Hales made his final London Marathon preparations by winning the Bridgnorth CC Hilly event over 21 miles, while fellow Wrekinsport CC competitor Hayley Wells was a clear winner in the women’s event.

Meanwhile, the quickest in the open and women’s road bike categories was Thomas Herbert (Bridgnorth Cycling Club) and Gwyneth Parry (Stolen Goat Race Team) respectively.

Hales, aged 31, was the only rider to break the 49-minute mark on the undulating course stopping the clock in 48 minutes and 26 seconds.

The D21/22 course saw competitors start outside Bridgnorth before completing a triangle-shaped loop in Shropshire.

Riders headed out to Much Wenlock before competing across to Shipton and then the final leg back towards Bridgnorth.

Hales also won the Paramount CRT 20 two weeks earlier and took top spot again finishing almost a minute ahead of his nearest competitor.

David Griffiths (Oswestry Paragon CC) finished second in 49-24, while Matthew Garthwaite (Newport (Shropshire) CC) completed the podium positions a further minute back (50-30).

Hayley Wells

Simon Romei (Paramount CRT) was the quickest veteran on scratch finishing sixth overall in 51-33, while Ben Southgate (Wrekinsport CC) was fastest junior (59-18).

“I’ve done this course a few times in grim conditions so was great to get out on course in the sun,” said Hales.

“I do enjoy the under and over efforts of this undulating course. I planned to attack the hills and recover on the descents which seemed to work well.

“It was well organised by Bridgnorth CC and great for Wrekinsport CC to take the open and women’s wins.

“I’m hoping the legs will recover by the morning for London Marathon.”

In the women’s event Wells was a clear winner stopping the clock in a winning time of 55 minutes and 28 seconds.

The 31-year-old also won the Mid Shropshire Wheelers 25 last weekend Paramount CRT 20 the week before.

Road bike competitor Gwyneth Parry (Stolen Goat Race Team) finished second woman overall in 1-02-04, while veteran Sally Cunliffe (Velotik Racing Team) was third (1-04-19).

“The first part of the course was busy with traffic which prevented me from taking full advantage of the dip leading into the first steady climb of the route,” said Wells.

“Then coming out of Wenlock, I knew with a 14% climb ahead steady momentum was needed in order to not blow up.

That was followed by intermittent sharp climbs along with smooth and fast seconds.

“I felt my pacing was on point and the final third allowed me to empty the tank with rolling sections, before I knew it the finish was in sight.

“It was a challenging course which was a true test of rider and machine.”

Quickest in the road bike category was Thomas Herbert (Bridgnorth Cycling Club) whose time of 51-13 was enough for fifth place overall.

Second in the category and also in the top-10 overall was Chris Childs (Bridgnorth Cycling Club) in 52-31, while veteran Mark Fenn (Shropshire CCA) finished third (58-20).

Parry was quickest in the women’s road bike category ahead of Deb Hutson-Lumb (Wrekinsport CC) in second (1-04-37).

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



1 Tomos Hales (Wrekinsport CC)                  48.26

2 David Griffiths (Oswestry Paragon CC)     49.24

3 Matthew Garthwaite (Newport (Shropshire) CC)   50.30

4 Paul Horton (Bridgnorth Cycling Club)      51.08

5 Thomas Herbert (Bridgnorth Cycling Club)           51.13

6 Simon Romei (Paramount CRT)                 51.33

7 Jemil Tokdemir (Spectrum Racing) 51.41

8 Devon Round (Mid Shropshire Wheelers)   52.02

9 Chris Childs (Bridgnorth Cycling Club)     52.31

10 Bryn Davies (Hafren CC)  53.09


1 Hayley Wells (Wrekinsport CC)      55.28

2 Gwyneth Parry (Stolen Goat Race Team)   1:02.04

3 Sally Cunliffe (Velotik Racing Team)         1:04.19

4 Deb Hutson-Lumb (Wrekinsport CC)         1:04.37

Road bikes

1 Thomas Herbert (Bridgnorth Cycling Club)           51.13

2 Chris Childs (Bridgnorth Cycling Club)     52.31

3 Mark Fenn (Shropshire CCA)         58.20

4 Ashley Kirkham (Wrekinsport CC) 1:10.55


1 Gwyneth Parry (Stolen Goat Race Team)   1:02.04

2 Deb Hutson-Lumb (Wrekinsport CC)         1:04.37