VTTA East Midland (all ages)(pref to VTTA members)(cheques to R Gent)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 15-Jun-24
  • Time: 15:00
  • Distance: 25 Miles
  • Course: A25/34
  • Closing Date: 05-Jun-24 23:59
  • Categories:
    • All Youth
    • All Junior
    • All Espoir
    • All Senior
    • All Veteran
    • All Para

Sage and Burrows earn fine East Midlands 25 victories

  • Published: 16 Jun 24
  • Written By: Snowdon Sports
F | T | G+
Denise Burrows

Teenager Dylan Sage produced a stunning ride to earn his first win of the season at the VTTA East Midlands 25-mile time trial on Saturday, while Denise Burrows finished as the fastest female.

Riding for Evolution Racing Academy, 16-year-old Sage set an unbeaten time of 47-45 to finish only 14 seconds off Josh Giddings’ junior course record and ahead of fellow 16 year old Matt Kent (Tofauti Everyone Active), who secured second place with 50-13, while Tristan Pilling finished in third spot with 50:39.

Continuous rainfall in Nottinghamshire had resulted in a delayed start and many later riders were forced to abandon when a storm hit, but Sage fought against the conditions to record his first win this year after finishing fourth at the Cardiff 50-mile time trial last week.

In the women’s event, Burrows (AeroCoach) put in a fine performance to record a sub one hour 59-47, staving off competition from Susan Semple of Legato Racing Team who finished second in 1.00-56 and Sarah Harrison (Trek Sheffield), who clinched third with 1.01-14.

This was Burrow’s second win in as many weeks after having claimed top spot at the Melton Olympic CC 10-mile time trial last Saturday.

“The weather seems to be the story of the season so far and the heavy rainfall in the hour or so prior to this race certainly looked like it would have an influence,” said Burrows.

“The sensible delayed start meant that the roads were almost completely dry as I took on the headwind down to the roundabout. A cross tailwind back certainly helped my return, though the final stretch back into the headwind after coming off the A46 seemed to go on for even longer than usual!

“I was delighted to go under the hour and even more grateful to have got back to the HQ before the next deluge of rain fell! Big thanks as ever to the organisers and marshals and an excellent call on delaying the start by 15 minutes.”

The veteran category’s top prize was taken by Jen Clegg (Team Bottrill) with an age-adjusted time of 47-25, ahead of Michael Lythgoe (Kenilworth Wheelers) who recorded 48-43 and Joseph Costello of Legato Racing Team, who came third with 48-56.

Costello’s Legato Racing Team was the recipient of the team award, with his fellow teammates Mark Hamer and Susan Semple setting an age-adjusted time of 2.31-16.

This 25-mile event, run on the A25/34 course, begins in East Stoke where it heads South on Fosse Road. U-turning at Stragglethorpe Interchange, the course backtracks to finish just North of its starting location beside the River Trent.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.




1. Dylan Sage  (Evolution Racing Academy) 47-45

2. Matthew Kent (Tofauti Everyone Active) 50-13

3. Tristan Pilling (360cycling)            50-39

4. Mark Hamer (Legato Racing Team) 51-55

5. Matthew Uttley (Nottingham Clarion CC) 52-46

6. Neil Cleminshaw (ADDFORM Vive Le Velo) 52-58


1. Denise Burrows (AeroCoach)        59.47

2. Susan Semple (Legato Racing Team) 1:00-56

3. Sarah Harrison (Trek Sheffield) 1:01-14

4. Hebe Picking (Jadan Vive Le Velo) 1:01-42

5. Jen Clegg (Team Bottrill) 1:04-04

6. Pamela Moore (Coalville Whs) 1:10-51