Melton Olympic CC (cheques to K R Gent)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 08-Jun-24
  • Time: 15:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: A10/3
  • Closing Date: 28-May-24 23:59
  • Categories:
    • All Youth
    • All Junior
    • All Espoir
    • All Senior
    • All Veteran
    • All Para

Melton Olympic 10 triumph for Mead and Burrows

  • Published: 09 Jun 24
  • Written By: Snowdon Sports
F | T | G+
Denise Burrows

David Mead was the only rider to break the 20-minute barrier on his way to winning the open category at the Melton Olympic CC 10 in Nottinghamshire on Saturday afternoon, while Denise Burrows made it two wins from five events this season with success in the women’s category.

Riding for Team Enable – MI Racing, Mead earned a fifth successive win having also won the 17-mile A5 Rangers CC event in April, the Coventry CC 10, followed by Team Milton Keynes 20 before his last success at Legato Racing Team 10.

After setting a time of 19-24, Mead took victory ahead of the 20-01 set by Matthew Bottrill (Team Bottrill) for the runners-up spot, with Nottingham Clarion CC’s Matthew Uttley third in 20-07.

Mead was also fastest veteran on age adjusted time, in an adjusted time of 19-01.

In the women’s event AeroCoach rider Burrows added another win to her season with a time of 24-18, edging out the 24-35 set by Welland Valley CC’s Linda Hubbard, while Andrea Winkless of Coalville Wheelers CC finished third in 26-14.

On her win, Burrows said: “Another blustery afternoon made for tough conditions and certainly contributed to a slower time than I had hoped for, as I am sure was the case for the rest of the competition.

“That said, I was pleased to secure another win on a great course. Let's hope for sunshine and the gentlest of breezes for the next race! Thanks as always to the organisers and marshals.”

ADDFORM Vive le Velo trio Andrew Miller, Neil Cleminshaw and Sam Straw took a comfortable win to claim the team award, while a rapid 22-16 earned Chris Sidney the fastest road bike prize.

Riders enjoyed dry but breezy conditions with the wind heading across the course throughout the event.

This 10-mile event, run on the A10/3 course, starts just north of Romans Quarter and proceeds onto the A46, heading north until the Elston/Thorpe Junction where riders turn left and then left again to rejoin the A46 southbound and finish just west of Car Colston to complete the 10-mile circuit.

*All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission. This report by James Ayles.




1. David Mead (Team Enable – MI Racing)               19.24

2. Matthew Bottrill (Team Bottrill)     20.01

3. Matthew Uttley (Nottingham Clarion CC) 20.07

4. Ewan Mackie (Ilkeston Cycle Club)          20.16

5. Carl Shaw (Race Hub)        20.21

6. Andy Thomas (Lindsey Roads Club)         20.38


1. Denise Burrows (AeroCoach)        24.18

2. Linda Hubbard (Welland Valley CC)         24.35

3. Andrea Winkless (Coalville Wheelers)       26.14

4. Kathryn Smith (Sleaford Wheelers CC)     26.33

5. Pamela Moore (Coalville Wheelers)           27.15