Farnham RC

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 16-Jul-23
  • Time: 07:30
  • Distance: 25 Miles
  • Course: H25/8
  • Closing Date: 04-Jul-23 23:59
  • Categories:
    • All Youth
    • All Junior
    • All Espoir
    • All Senior
    • All Veteran
    • All Para

Taysom and Wyke go quickest in Farnham RC 25

  • Published: 16 Jul 23
  • Written By: Snowdon Sports
F | T | G+

Henry Taysom (Ex Machina) won his first open time trial in the Farnham Road Club 25-mile time trial near Bentley in Hampshire, while Caroline Wyke (CC Sudbury) was the quickest woman.

Taysom, age 36, took a fine victory stopping the clock in 54 minutes and 52 seconds – 2-38 faster than his closest challenger.

Wyke was the only woman competitor while Go Fast Turn Left had riders in the winning four-up and two-up events.

The H25/8 saw competitors compete on the A31 starting outside Farnham and heading to the turn at Alton. Riders completed two laps of the course to make the 25-mile distance.

A good overall field of 55 riders across the different categories enjoyed a bright and breezy morning of racing.

On his last open time trial outing Taysom finished fourth in the Newbury RC 25, but he was not to be denied on this occasion.

Quickest veteran on scratch James Ayton (Portsmouth North End CC) led a close battle for second with his time of 57-30 some 23 seconds faster than Paul Tippett (Crawley Wheelers) in 57-53.

Spindata had predicted a victory for Taysom in 52-26, but in breezy conditions his time was two minutes slower in reality.

In the road bike event Simon English (Dulwich Paragon CC) recorded a winning time of 1-02-33 which was four minutes quicker than his nearest challenger.

The win was English’s first in an open time trial category after finishing fourth in May’s Bec CC 10 on his only other open outing.

Alistair Farrow (Twickenham CC) was second in the road bike competition in 1-06-33, while Stuart Morgan (Farnham RC) finished third (1-08-40).

The only woman in the solo competition was Wyke who rode on a road bike stopping the clock in 1-31-12.

The sole competitors in the tandem category was the mixed gender pairing of Jon Saunders (Charlotteville Cycling Club) and Elizabeth Jordan (Storey Racing) who stopped the clock in 58-32.

In the two-up category a fine ride by the mixed team pair of William Taylor (Go Fast Turn Left) and Joshua Clark (Royal Navy & Royal Marines CA) saw them take victory in 55-03.

Go Fast Turn Left riders Benn Bromley and Christopher Eibich took to the course on their road bikes finishing second in 56-58.

Completing the two-up podium were Worthing Excelsior CC team-mates Ian Cheesman and Karl Roberton who stopped the clock in 57-11.

The four-up event was dominated by road bikes with all of the top three teams on non-aerodynamic road bike machines.

The winning team saw Go Fast Turn Left riders Lincon Rodrigues, Florian Holstein and David Rosa Casado joined by Peter Hargreaves (VC Norwich) with the quartet posting a time of 54-41.

Team Velo Sportif finished second with a team of Frank Bauer, Peter Allan, Andrew Thomas and Rylan Hughes stopping the clock in 56-25.

Host club Farnham RC riders Alastair Godfrey, Daniel Fisher and Mike Godfrey were joined by Charlie Godfrey (Oxford University CC) as the quartet took third in 57-12.

Onyx RT had the only women’s team with Kathryn Hughes, Sophie Curle, Kimberley Burrows and Holly Chamarette stopping the clock in 1-00-46.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



1          Henry  Taysom            Ex Machina     54:52

2          James   Ayton   Portsmouth North End CC     57:30

3          Paul     Tippett Crawley Wheelers       57:53

4          Adrian Blacker            VTTA (Surrey/ Sussex)           57:56

5          Martin  Williamson      London Dynamo         58:28

6          Paul     Morris  Fareham Wheelers CC            58:34

7          Finn     Fitzgerald        Ful-on Tri        59:38

8          Tony    Reeves GS Stella         59:59

9          Paul     Callinan           London Dynamo         1:00:12

10        Simon  English            Dulwich Paragon CC  1:02:33

11        Stuart   Peckham          Velo Club St Raphael  1:02:55

12        Demetrius Onoufriou  Farnham RC   1:02:57

13        Zac      Boffey Precision Race Team   1:04:12

14        Alistair             Farrow Twickenham CC         1:06:33

15        Stuart   Morgan            Farnham RC   1:08:40

16        Julian   Scutter East Grinstead CC      1:12:39

17        Paul     Cannon            Epsom CC       1:13:10

18        Caroline Wyke            CC Sudbury    1:31:12


Road bike
1 Simon English          Dulwich Paragon CC  1:02:33
2 Alistair Farrow         Twickenham CC         1:06:33
3 Stuart            Morgan                        Farnham RC   1:08:40
Woman: Caroline Wyke          CC Sudbury    1:31:12


1          William            Taylor  Go Fast Turn Left        55:03

            Joshua Clark   Royal Navy & Royal Marines CA                 55:03

2          Benn    Bromley          Go Fast Turn Left        56:58

            Christopher      Eibich  Go Fast Turn Left        56:58

3          Ian       Cheesman        Worthing Excelsior CC          57:11

            Karl     Roberton         Worthing Excelsior CC          57:11

4          Sam     Orbell  Farnham RC   0:57:52

            James   Allen   Alton CC/Owens Cycles         57:52



1          Lincon             Rodrigues        Go Fast Turn Left        54:41

            Florian Holstein           Go Fast Turn Left        54:41

            David  Rosa Casado   Go Fast Turn Left        54:41

            Peter    Hargreaves      VC Norwich    54:41

2          Frank   Bauer   Team Velo Sportif       56:25

            Peter    Allan   Team Velo Sportif       56:25

            Andrew           Thomas           Team Velo Sportif       56:25

            Rylan   Hughes            Team Velo Sportif       56:25

3          Alastair            Godfrey           Farnham RC   57:12

            Daniel  Fisher  Farnham RC   57:12

            Mike    Godfrey           Farnham RC   57:12

            Charlie Godfrey           Oxford University CC 57:12

4          Pete     Christensen      Hart Evolution Race Team      58:46

            Andrew           Gall     Hart Evolution Race Team      58:46

            Ian       Neville Hart Evolution Race Team      58:46

            Stuart   McLay Hart Evolution Race Team      58:46


Women’s team: Kathryn         Hughes            Onyx RT         1:00:46

            Sophie Curle   Onyx RT         1:00:46

            Kimberley Burrows    Onyx RT         1:00:46

            Holly Chamarette        Onyx RT         1:00:46



1          Jon Saunders   Charlotteville Cycling Club    58:32                          

Elizabeth Jordan         Storey Racing