Cardiff Ajax CC

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 18-Mar-23
  • Time: 14:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: R10/16A
  • Closing Date: 07-Mar-23 23:59
  • Categories:
    • All Youth
    • All Junior
    • All Espoir
    • All Senior
    • All Veteran
    • All Para

Gibbard victorious at Cardiff Ajax 10

  • Published: 19 Mar 23
  • Written By: Snowdon Sports
F | T | G+
Chris Gibbard

Christopher Gibbard continued his fine start to the season with a second straight victory at the Cardiff Ajax CC 10-mile time trial on Saturday afternoon in Monmouthshire.

Bynea Cycling Club’s Gibbard followed up victory at the Port Talbot Wheelers 25-mile two-up on March 12 with an unmatched time of 20-08 to win again, while Jack Kellam (Cambridge University CC), claimed second in dramatic fashion by clocking 20-49, just a second ahead of third place Seth Jones (Backstedt Bike Performance Junior Race Team) in 2-50.

That time was enough for Jones to claim the fastest junior prize, while quickest veteran on standard was won by Jon Vickery (Cwmcarn Paragon CC).

On road bikes Tom Grigson (Stolen Goat Race Team) was fastest male, ahead of Rob Jones (Cardiff Ajax CC) in second place and Andy Gibbs (Cwmcarn Paragon CC) who claimed third.

There was double delight for the promoting club in the women’s road bike event, with Alex Tennant and Holly Thomas first and second respectively, while fastest veteran on standard went to Darren Hughes (Cwmcarn Paragon CC).

The two-up saw John Brown & Neil Lewis (Veloflow) win the men’s category, with Georgina Covell & Nichola Bagshaw (Cardiff Ajax CC) the fastest women’s team and Jennifer Cynan Jones & Gavin Jones (Cardiff Ajax CC) first among mixed teams.

This 10-mile event, run on the R10/16A course, starts just north of Abercarn on the A467 and proceeds southbound, taking the second exit at Crosskeys roundabout to continue to Risca and then encircling the roundabout to head northbound to Wattsville then returning towards Abercarn on the A467, bearing left to finish on Bridge Street.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission. This report by James Ayles.




1. Christopher Gibbard (Bynea Cycling Club)           20.08

2. Jack Kellam (Cambridge University CC)  20.49

3. Seth Jones (Backstedt Bike Performance Junior Race Team)        20.50

4. David Medhurst (Cardiff Ajax CC)            21.27

5. Dan Kingston (VTTA (South Wales group))         22.00

6. Theo Tadros (trainSharp)    22.53