Bedfordshire Road Cycling Club (BRCC)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 04-Jun-23
  • Time: 07:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: F1B/10
  • Closing Date: 23-May-23 23:59
  • Categories:
    • All Youth
    • All Junior
    • All Espoir
    • All Senior
    • All Veteran
    • All Para

Beare and Luxford take victories at Bedfordshire Road Cycling Club 10

  • Published: 04 Jun 23
  • Written By: Snowdon Sports
F | T | G+
Deborah Beare

Deborah Beare (Icknield RC) set a new course record on her way to winning in the women’s event in the Bedfordshire Road Cycling Club 10, while scratch rider Alastair Luxford (Full Gas Racing Team) won the men’s event.

Beare knocked 30 seconds off the previous course record clocking a time of 23-25 – some 36 seconds quicker than the next female competitor.

Meanwhile, Luxford, aged 41, took his first open time trial win in over a year with a time of 20 minutes and 13 seconds – 25 seconds faster than his nearest challenger.

The F1B/10 saw riders start and finish near Tempsford before heading out and back along the A1 to the turn outside Biggleswade.

The historic course is not used so often now due to the traffic volume and local regulation requiring only early Sunday morning events.

Alastair Luxford

Blue skies and an unfavourable breeze greeted competitors, which gave little assistance on the outward leg because of shelter from the verge but made for a tougher than usual return leg.

Veteran rider Luxford finished runner-up in the …a3crg 25 last weekend and went one better this time out.

Fellow veteran David James Williams (Velotik Racing Team) was the only other rider to break the 21-minute mark stopping the clock in 20-38, ahead of team-mate Toby Williams in 21-08.

Spindata had predicted a victory for Luxford in 19-40, but the veteran rider was 33 seconds slower than that time in the unfavourable conditions.

Beare, aged 41, finished runner-up in the Shaftesbury CC Open 25 earlier this season but was not to be denied this time out taking a comfortable win in the women’s event.

Juliet Smith took second in the time trial event for host club Bedfordshire Road CC in 26-19, while Gillian Reynolds (Willesden CC) was third (27-43).

The men’s road bike event saw a close finish with veteran rider Ade Gower (Hitchin Nomads CC) taking his first victory in the category of the season in 25-29.

Just 10 seconds behind was Mick Case (Hafren CC) in second (25-39), while James Johns (Welwyn Whs) finished third (26-17).

Host club rider Emily Robertson (Bedfordshire Road CC) posted an impressive time to win the women’s road bike category in 24-01 and was the second quickest female overall.

The only other female competitor in the road bike category was Lynne Scofield (Rockingham Forest Wheelers) who stopped the clock in 30-02.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



1             Alastair Luxford                 Full Gas Racing Team                      20:13

2             David James Williams      Velotik Racing Team                       20:38

3              Toby Williams                   Velotik Racing Team                       21:08

4             Richard Kennington        Bedfordshire Road CC                    21:26

5             Matt Donovan                   Bedfordshire Road RT                     22:03

6              Martin Reynolds              Cambridge CC                                    22:12



1              Deborah Beare                  Icknield RC                                          23:25

2              Juliet Smith                         Bedfordshire Road CC                    26:19

3              Gillian Reynolds                Willesden CC                                      27:43


Road Bike men

1              Ade Gower                         Hitchin Nomads CC                          25:29

2              Mick Case                            Hafren CC                                          25:39

3             James Johnson                      Welwyn Whs                                        26:17


Road Bike women

1              Emily Robertson               Bedfordshire Road CC                    24:01 

2              Lynne Scofield                        Rockingham Forest Wheelers     30:02