Southport Cycling Club (Inc VTTA North Lancs & Lakes and incorporating their 15 Mile TT championship)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 30-Apr-23
  • Time: 08:30
  • Distance: 15 Miles
  • Course: D33/15
  • Closing Date: 18-Apr-23 23:59
  • Categories:
    • All Youth
    • All Junior
    • All Espoir
    • All Senior
    • All Veteran
    • All Para

Parkin and Moss battle to victories in Southport CC 15

  • Published: 01 May 23
  • Written By: Snowdon Sports
F | T | G+
Deborah Moss

David Parkin (Velotik Racing Team) set a new course record on his way to winning the Southport Cycling Club 15, while Deborah Moss (Springfield Financial Racing Team) won the women’s event.

Parkin took his fourth open time trial victory in a time of 31 minutes and 50 seconds which was over a minute quicker than his nearest rival.

The D33/15 in Tarleton, Lancashire saw riders start near Sollom before heading south on the A49 down to Rufford. Competitors then joined the B5246 and then through Holmeswood and Mere Brow villages to the roundabout at the junction with the A565.

The final leg of the course was on A565 dual carriageway to the Banks Roundabout at the halfway mark before competitors re-traced the route to the finish on the A59 close to the start.

The first open event to be held on the D33/15 course was held in cold and wet conditions resulting in a battle against the elements for some riders.

Parkin finished second in the Macclesfield Wheelers 25 the previous day but was not to be denied this time out recording a course record time in the process.

David Parkin

A close battle for second saw James Holloway (Ribble Collective) stop the clock in 33-04 which was four seconds faster than David Williams (Velotik Racing Team) in 33-08.

Parkin also led Velotik Racing to the team award alongside David Williams and Jarod Garrington to make a combined time of 1-39-09.

The quickest juvenile was Davey Allanson (360 Cycling) in 38-49, while Brian Moore (Tricycle Association) piloted his tricycle around the course in 52-31 to establish a trike record.

In the women’s event veteran Moss posted a winning time of 37 minutes and 21 seconds which was 27 seconds clear of her nearest opponent.

Moss also won the North Lancashire RC 10 and National VTTA Championship 25 events and took her third open time trial victory on this occasion.

Louise Scupham (Jadan Vive Le Velo) finished second in 37-48 while Karen Bailey (East Lancashire RC) took third (39-29).

Along with taking the women’s overall victory Moss was also best veteran by age adjusted time overall beating all the male competitors with her adjusted time 32-05.

Williams was second overall and first male on age adjusted time in 32-42 while his Velotik Racing team-mate Garrington was third overall on age adjusted time in 32-49.

In the road bike competition Howard Leach (VTTA North Lancs And Lakes Group) was quickest in 44-32 ahead of Adrian Smyth (Birkenhead Victoria CC) in 46-43.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission. 



1 David Parkin (Velotik Racing Team) 31.50
2 James Holloway (Ribble Collective) 33.04
3 David James Williams (Velotik Racing Team) 33.08
4 Jarod Garrington (Velotik Racing Team) 34.05
5 Craig Venske (Rossendale RC) 34.19
6 James Griffiths (Velotik Racing Team) 34.34

Juvenile: Davey Allanson (360 Cycling) 38.49

Tricycle: Brian Moore (Tricycle Association) 52.31

1 Deborah Moss (Springfield Financial Racing Team) 37.21
2 Louise Scupham (Jadan Vive Le Velo) 37.48
3 Karen Bailey (East Lancashire RC) 39.29
4 Sue Cheetham (North Lancashire Road Club) 42.01
5 Theresa Taylor (Springfield Financial Racing Team) 42.30

Road bike
1 Howard Leach (VTTA North Lancs And Lakes Group) 44.32
2 Adrian Smyth (Birkenhead Victoria CC) 46.43