North Lancashire Road Club (Nick 'o' Pendle) (NLTTA Championship)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 22-Oct-23
  • Time: 10:00
  • Distance: 0
  • Course: L806 - NICK O PENDLE
  • Closing Date: 10-Oct-23 23:59
  • Categories:
    • All Youth
    • All Junior
    • All Espoir
    • All Senior
    • All Veteran
    • All Para

Plowman and Cunningham storm to victories on Nick ‘O’ Pendle

  • Published: 23 Oct 23
  • Written By: Snowdon Sports
F | T | G+
Abi Plowman

Abi Plowman (Jaden Vive Le Velo) posted a new course record on her way to clear victory in the North Lancashire Road Club event on Nick ‘O’ Pendle, while Andy Cunningham (Wheelbase-Cabtech-Castelli) won the men’s event.

Plowman, aged 24, smashed the previous women’s course record posting a winning time of four minutes and 47 seconds over the 1.32-kilometre climb.

Meanwhile, Cunningham recorded his fourth open hill climb victory in the men’s event stopping the clock in 4-02.

Nick ‘O’ Pendle climbs out of the village of Sabden and ramps up from the start and has an average gradient of 11%.

The climb was used in the 1988 national championship when Chris Boardman won in a time of 3-29.

Plowman has won all four of her open hill climbs this season, including victories on Monsal and Jackson Bridge.

She was in fine form on this occasion finishing 57 seconds ahead of veteran Victoria Wilkinson (Kendal Cycle Club) in second (5-44) and Joanna Cebrat (360Cycling) in third (6-16).

Andy Cunningham

“The only time I'd been up Nick ‘O' Pendle before today was on a long ride last December, soaked, freezing and unable to find a cafe open anywhere,” said Plowman. “So it was very satisfying to go back and put things to rights.”

In the men’s event 34-year-old Cunningham battled to victory finishing just four seconds clear of his nearest challenger.

The Wheelbase-Cabtech-Castelli has also recorded victory in the West Pennine Road Club event on Blackstone Edge earlier this season and is targeting next week’s National Hill Climb Championship.

Junior rider Maxwell Hereward (360Cycling) narrowly missed out on the overall victory finishing second in 4-06, while Iain Duffield (PMRR) completed the podium positions a further four seconds back (4-10).

The quickest juvenile was Charlie Brennan (ESV Manchesater) who stopped the clock in a time of 4-26.

Over-50 category rider Andy Askwith (Vive Le Velo) was the quickest veteran in 5-11. Fastest in the over-40 category was Chris Stanley (North Lancs Road Club) in 5.19, while John Flanagan (Moonglu CC) was the quickest veteran over-60 stopping the clock in 5-22.

Meanwhile, 360Cycling won the team award with Maxwell Hereward, Davey Allanson and Joanna Cebrat all contributing.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.

* A gallery of images from this event is available here




1. Andy Cunningham (Wheelbase-Cabtech-Castelli)  4.02

2. Maxwell Hereward (360Cycling)   4.06

3. Iain Duffield (PMRR)         4.10

4. Joe Watkins-Wilson (Z Junior Race Team) 4.13

5. George Hodgkinson (Ribble Cycles)          4.16

6. Laurence Fryer-Taylor (Macclesfield Wheelers)    4.22


1. Abi Plowman (Jaden Vive Le Velo) 4.47

2. Victoria Wilkinson (Kendal Cycle Club)    5.44  

3. Joanna Cebrat (360Cycling)           6.16

4. Susie Kirkham (Blackpool Clarion Cycling Club) 7.15

Junior: Maxwell Hereward (360Cycling)       4.06

Juvenile: Charlie Brennan (ESV Manchester)            4.26

Veteran 40: Chris Stanley (North Lancs Road Club) 5.19

Veteran 50: Andy Askwith (Vive Le Velo)     5.11

Veteran 60: John Flanagan (Moonglu CC)     5.22

Team: 360Cycling (Maxwell Hereward, Davey Allanson, Joanna Cebrat)