North Lancashire Road Club

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 08-Apr-23
  • Time: 07:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: L101 - BROCK
  • Closing Date: 28-Mar-23 23:59
  • Categories:
    • All Youth
    • All Junior
    • All Espoir
    • All Senior
    • All Veteran
    • All Para

Moss and Parkin take victories in North Lancashire RC 10

  • Published: 09 Apr 23
  • Written By: Snowdon Sports
F | T | G+
David Parkin

Deborah Moss (Springfield Financial Racing Team) took the women’s victory by a single second in the North Lancashire Road Club 10, while scratch rider David Parkin (Velotik RT) won the men’s event.

Veteran rider Moss was the final woman starter and was involved in a titanic tussle with her minute rider Louise Scupham (Jadan Vive Le Velo).

The North Lancs Road Club 10 was held on the L101 based on the A6 with competitors traveling out and back from Garstang to the Hampson Green Roundabout.

Riders were greeted by dry and sunny, although still cold with a north westerly wind. Competitors reported that the rise up to the turn was 'hard' and the course was helped by light passing traffic.

Moss, aged 52, from Wrightington, recorded a winning time of 24 minutes and one second to clinch her first win of the season and with it won the Christine Goodfellow Memorial Trophy.

Deborah Moss

Scupham missed out on victory by a single second while veteran rider Joanna Cebrat (360 Cycling) finished third (24-51).

In the men’s event scratch rider Parkin, aged 36, from Manchester, clocked a winning time of 20 minutes and 13 seconds to clinch the Michael Pryce Memorial Trophy for one year.

Parkin has had a fast start to the season with this being his fourth podium, but first open time trial victory.

A close battle for second saw quickest veteran on scratch David Thompson (Rock to Roll CC) finish in 20-38 which was just two seconds faster than Kamil Waligora (East Lancs RC) in 20-40.

The winning team was Pendle Forest CC with Darren Harvey (22-30), Paul Braithwaite (22-58) and Luke Greenwood (23-11) all contributing.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.

* A gallery of images from this event is available here



1. David Parkin Velotik RT 20.13

2. David Thompson. Rock to Roll CC. 20.38

3. Kamil Waligora. East Lancs. RC. 20.40

4. Richard Nesfield. Giant-Kendal-Sidas UK. 20.54

5. Matt Morris Wigan Wheelers CC 21.23

6. Adam Taylor. Wigan Wheelers CC. 21.40



1. Deborah Moss Springfield Financial Racing Team. 24.01

2. Louise Scupham Jadan Vive Le Velo 24.02

3. Joanna Cebrat 360 Cycling 24.51

4. Theresa Taylor. Springfield Financial Racing Team. 26.19

5. Emma Houterman North Lancs. RC 26.26

6 Cara Rawlinson. Cleveleys RC 27.01


Team: Pendle Forest CC (Darren Harvey 22.30; Paul Braithwaite 22.58; Luke Greenwood 23.11)