RTTC National Closed Circuit Championship (Men)(Antelope RT)(Entries close 27/09/2022)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 09-Oct-22
  • Time: 09:00
  • Distance: 11.7 Miles
  • Course: P/THRUXTON
  • Closing Date: 27-Sep-22 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Open Espoir
    • Open Senior
    • Open Veteran
    • Open Para

No Course Map

If you have a map of this course, please email courses@cyclingtimetrials.org.uk

Fennell and Allan charge to victories at National Closed Circuit Championship

  • Published: 10 Oct 22
  • Written By: Snowdon Sports
F | T | G+
Chris Fennell

Christopher Fennell (The Independent Pedaler – Nopinz) and Kate Allan (Team Bottrill) completed their seasons in style by taking the men’s and women’s victories respectively at the National Closed Circuit Championship.

Fennell, aged 27, defended the National Closed Circuit Championship crown which he won last year by posting a winning time of 22-05 over the 11.7-mile course.

A gap of 34 seconds separated Fennell and his rivals this time out and allowed him to clinch a fourth national title of the season.

Antelope RT hosted the championship event in the familiar surroundings of Thruxton Motorsport Centre with riders completing five laps to form the 11.7-mile distance.

Spindata had predicted that Fennell would post a winning time of 22-05 and he did exactly that, staying clear of a tight fight for the remaining podium positions.

Joshua Teasdale (XSpeed United Continental) was the quickest behind taking second place in his first open time trial and a national medal with it posting 22-39.

Kate Allan

Just a second further behind was Ollie Hucks (Saint Piran) who completed the men’s podium in 22-40.

The quickest veteran on scratch was Matthew Smith (DRAG2ZERO) who finished sixth overall completing the course in 22-52.

In the women’s event Team Bottrill rider Allan won her third national title of the season posting a winning time of 24-27.

The 37-year-old from Maidenhead has won the national 10 and 50-mile time trials this season and finished 14 seconds clear of her rivals to take her third title.

National Circuit Champion Jennifer George (The Independent Pedaler – Nopinz) was in contention but had to settle for second this time out posting a time of 24-41.

A close battle for third saw Laura Davies (Jadan Vive Le Velo) finish in 25-31 which was just six seconds quicker than under-23 rider Lucy Gadd (Storey Racing).

Fellow Storey Racing rider Sarah Storey was the fastest veteran on scratch posting a time of 25-37.


“It felt like a fast day and I executed the race really well myself, I’m pleased with how I paced it,” said Allan.

“I’ve raced it twice finished second in 2016 and last year I was ninth but that was fairly untrained as I wanted to get a benchmark for this year.

“I’m very much finished now for the year.”

Angus Stoneham (Beaconsfield Cycling Club) was the fastest junior boy posting 23-23 which was 11 seconds faster than Alex Franks (VC de Londres) in second while Cormac Nisbet (High Wycombe CC) placed third (24-09).

In the junior girls’ category Peggy Simpkins (Banbury Star Cyclists' Club) was quickest in 28-50 beating Freya Eccleston (Palmer Park Velo) into second (29-25) while Poppy Kisley (Banbury Star Cyclists' Club) was third a further 30 seconds back.

In the juvenile category Leon Atkins (Welwyn Whs) was the fastest boy in 25-01 while Mabli Phillips (Maindy Flyers Cycling Club) was the top girl (28-48).

Primera TeamJobs

The event included a first ever National Paracyclist National Championship totle for Ben Hetherington, coming back from a serious injury three years ago, while Kate Toft (Storey Racing) was best female in that category.

There were also events for those on road bikes, heritage cycles, tandems and four-up team events – all run off in glorious late summer sunshine.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.

* A gallery of images from this event is available here