Kent CA

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 03-Apr-22
  • Time: 07:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: Q10/1
  • Closing Date: 22-Mar-22 23:59
  • Categories:
    • All Youth
    • All Junior
    • All Espoir
    • All Senior
    • All Veteran
    • All Para

Yates and Graveney take victories at Kent CA 10

  • Published: 04 Apr 22
  • Written By: Snowdon Sports
F | T | G+
Hannah Graveney

Veteran Conall Yates (Team Solo Vinci) took his opening win of the season in the Kent CA 10, while Hannah Graveney (AWOL O’Shea Worx) was fastest female competitor.

Yates, aged 41, had finished twice in his previous two outings this season, but went one better on this occasion clocking a winning time of 22 minutes and 21 seconds – just six seconds clear of his nearest challenger.

The Q10/1 saw riders start near Orlestone before traveling out and back along the A2070 to the turn near Ashford.

On the return leg competitors travelled past the start before descending down to Johnson’s Corner and then taking a sharp corner onto an unclassified road for the final finishing charge.

In January Yates finished second in the Southborough & Dist Whs 10, also held on the Q10/1 clocking a time of 21-27.

Despite going almost a minute slower this time out he did just enough to win in a tight battle for the podium positions which saw four riders separated by 29 seconds.

On his opening outing of the season veteran Paul Burrows (Thanet RC) fell just six seconds short of the victory finishing second in 22-27.

There was also a close battle for third with Matthew Smith (Colour Tech RT) clocking 22-45 which was just five seconds quicker than under-23 rider Reuban Davey (Abellio - SFA Racing Team).

Spindata had predicted a win for multiple national champion Christopher Fennell, but he was a non-starter along with his brother Nicholas.

While Graveney was the only women’s rider her time of 26-01 was more than worthy of victory as she clocked an average speed of more than 23mph.

The 21-year-old also won the VTTA (Kent Group) 10 on the same course last July clocking 24-33 on that occasion.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.