Barrow Central Wheelers (NLTTA Spoco)(Circuit of Coniston)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 20-Mar-22
  • Time: 09:30
  • Distance: 17 Miles
  • Course: L172
  • Closing Date: 08-Mar-22 23:59
  • Categories:
    • All Youth
    • All Junior
    • All Espoir
    • All Senior
    • All Veteran
    • All Para

Rigby and Booth power to victories in Circuit of Coniston

  • Published: 21 Mar 22
  • Written By: Snowdon Sports
F | T | G+
Erica Booth. Photo by Martyn Uttley.

Scratch rider Tom Rigby (Croston Velo) used his power and technical ability to take victory by 53 seconds in the Circuit of Coniston time trial, while veteran Erica Booth (Lancashire RC) won the women’s event.

32-year-old Rigby only rode one event last season but started his 2022 campaign with a victory, clocking a time of 35 minutes and two seconds over the slightly shortened 15-mile route.

Known as one of the most scenic time trial courses in the country, the fast riders had little time to take in the view in the Barrow Wheelers’ Circuit of Coniston.

Taking place on the rural roads to the east of Broughton in Furness in Cumbria competitors started and finished in Lowick Bridge.

Starting on the east side of the River Crake competitors followed the banks on an unclassified road taking them through High Nibthwaite and then alongside Coniston Water up to the B5285.

After passing through Coniston riders climbed on the A593 to Torver and then turning onto the A5084 and then running adjacent to Coniston Water and the River Crake back to Lowick Bridge.

The sporting course included long climbs, twists and turns, steep uphills, fast descents, sharp bends and two cattle grids.

The course had to be made two miles shorter because of traffic lights at the last minute.

Rigby’s last open time trial win came in August 2018 but he was not to be denied this time out taking a clear win.

Veteran Richard Helm (Barrow Central Wheelers) led the charge behind taking second in 35-55 while Andrew Whiteside (Springfield Financial Racing Team) finished third 36-45.

On her first outing of the year veteran rider Booth was a clear winner in the women’s event recording a time of 41-24.

Host club Barrow Central Wheelers took the final two podium spots with Tamsin Vicary finishing second in 43-39 while team-mate Rebecca Cleator was third (48-02).

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.


1          Tom     Rigby Croston Velo                           35.02

2          Richard           Helm   Barrow Central Wheelers                                35.55

3          Andrew           Whiteside        Springfield Financial Racing Team                36.45

4          Paul     Roby   Lancashire RC                        37.42

5          Tom     Broadbent       HD Revolutions                                  37.50

6          Daniel  McParland       Tri Preston                              38.10

7          David  Gleave Velo Club Cumbria                             38.18

8          Alistair            Rutherford      Manchester Bicycle Club                               38.36

9          Neil     Withington      Beacon Wheelers                                38.37

10        Derek  Parkinson        Springfield Financial Racing Team                            38.40

11        Richard           Morgan            Barrow Central Wheelers                                39.02

12        Andrew           Sudell  Barrow Central Wheelers                                39.15

13        James   Claydon          Bill Nickson Cycles                            39.35

14        Jon       Longworth      Bury Clarion CC                                 40.05

15        Robert Marshall          Team Andrew Allan Architecture                              40.29

16        Paul David      Fleming           Preston Whs                            40.30

17        John     O'Callaghan    Barrow Central Wheelers                                40.48

18        Paul     Blackburn RT -                                41.14

19        Jonathan          Brown Lakes Road Club                                41.15

20        Erica    Booth  Lancashire RC                        41.24

21        George Baker   Barrow Central Wheelers                                41.30

22        Edward           Quick  Lakes Road Club                                42.18

23        Bob     Atkinson         Barrow Central Wheelers                                42.46

24        Andrew           Kelly   Limitless Triathlon Coaching                         42.52

25        Mick    Braithwaite     Springfield Financial Racing Team                            43.07

26        John     Watkinson       Richmond CC                         43.14

27        Tamsin             Vicary Barrow Central Wheelers                                43.39

28        David Gibson Border City Whs CC                          44.16

29        Nick    Higginson        Cleveleys Road Club                          46.26

30        Rebecca           Cleator Barrow Central Wheelers                                48.02

31        Stephen           Glenwright      VTTA (Merseyside)                            49.28

32        Deborah          John     The Racing Chance Foundation                                 52.16

33        Jonny   Hill      Barrow Central Wheelers                                1.01.34