Bynea CC

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 20-Jun-21
  • Time: 08:00
  • Distance: 25 Miles
  • Course: R25/4
  • Closing Date: 08-Jun-21 23:59
  • Categories:
    • All Youth
    • All Junior
    • All Espoir
    • All Senior
    • All Veteran
    • All Para

Tucker and Holt charge to victories in Bynea CC 25

  • Published: 22 Jun 21
  • Written By: Snowdon Sports
F | T | G+
Philip Tucker

Host club rider Philip Tucker took his second victory of the season in Bynea CC 25, while Marianne Holt (Fareham Wheelers CC) was the women’s winner at an event moved because of roadworks.

Veteran rider Tucker also won the Bynea CC 25 event on the same course last month and despite posting a slower time of 53 minutes and 20 seconds on this occasion it was enough for victory.

The event was moved to the slightly more sporting course from Llandovery to Llandeilo, with 31 riders starting ranging in age from 14 to 86!

Tucker, from Burry Port in Carmarthenshire, clocked an average speed of over 28.1 miles per hour on his way to victory.

On his first open outing since 2019, Ben Jones (Cycle Specific) showed his post-lockdown form by taking second place in 54-21, just over a minute behind the winner.

Under-23 rider Owain Roberts (Wales Racing Academy) was taking on his first open time trial and finished third in 57-27.

Along with winning overall Tucker was also the quickest veteran on scratch ahead of Bynea CC team-mate Chris Jones who was second veteran in 58-27 while Nicholas Morgan (
Port Talbot Whs CC) was third in the age category (58-39).

James Harries (Cycle Specific) was quickest junior finishing ninth overall in 1-03-56 while Llyr Rees (Sarn Helen Club) was fastest juvenile in 1-16-09.

Meanwhile, in the women’s event veteran rider Holt was a clear winner with her time of 1-04-19 over 14 minutes clear of her nearest challenger.

Holt finished second in the Newbury Velo 15 event last month, but her win was never in doubt on this occasion recording an average speed of over 23.3 miles per hour.

Fellow veteran Rachel Parkinson (Bynea Cycling Club) took second in 1-18-33 ahead of team-mate Diane Hynam (1-24-38).

A special mention must go to Bob Ibell who has just turned 86 and completed the course in 1:49:34.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.