City Road Club Hull

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 19-Sep-21
  • Time: 10:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: V7115
  • Closing Date: 07-Sep-21 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Brearley and Messingham charge to victories in City Road Club Hull 10

  • Published: 19 Sep 21
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+

John Brearley (Squadra RT) took his second victory of the season in the City Road Club Hull 10, while Ellen Messingham (Barracuda Tri Club) won the women’s event.

Brearley, who turns 34 next week, clocked a winning time of 20 minutes and 51 seconds some 21 seconds clear of his rivals.

The V7115 saw riders complete a circuit starting near North Cave and heading out to Market Weighton.

Riders then joined the A1079 briefly before turning onto Market Weighton Road before turning for the finish.

Competitors took advantage of reasonable conditions and a flat course to set some good times, but down on the course record of 19-22.

Local rider Brearley, from Hull, also won the Yorkshire Cycling Federation 10 in July clocking 21-22 on that occasion.

Quickest veteran Julian Ramsbottom (Team Bottrill) finished second in the Common Lane Occasionals 10 earlier this month and had to settle for the runner-up position in 21-12.

Fellow veteran Andrew Miller (VC Beverley) clocked 22-15 took third after a tough battle which saw four riders separated by 26 seconds.

Third veteran was Neil Cleminshaw (Chapeau! Vive Le Velo) who had to settle for fourth just nine seconds behind Miller.

In the women’s event veteran rider Messingham took victory on her first open time trial outing of the season clocking a time of 27-04.

On her first open time trial outing junior rider Isabel Davidson (Vive Le Velo) was the only other women’s competitor finishing second and clocking 33-19.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.


1 John Brearley (Squadra RT) 20.51
2 Julian Ramsbottom (Team Bottrill) 21.12
3 Andrew Miller (VC Beverley) 22.15
4 Neil Cleminshaw (Chapeau! Vive Le Velo) 22.24
5 Julian Read (Swift Racing) 22.37
6 Mark McKeown (Hull Thursday RC) 22.41

1 Ellen Messingham (Barracuda Tri Club) 27.04
2 Isabel Davidson (Vive Le Velo) 33.19