Caithness CC (Caithness Weekend)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 27-Jun-21
  • Time: 10:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: WN10/01
  • Closing Date: 19-Jun-21 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Davidson and Stevenson smash course records in Caithness CC 10

  • Published: 28 Jun 21
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+

Jamie Davidson (Kelpie Racing) and Natalie Stevenson (Eat plants not pigs CC)  set new course records on their way to victories in the Caithness CC 10.

Davidson, aged 32, started as scratch rider and posted the fastest time of the day in 20 minutes and one second.

Davidson was one of four riders to break the men’s course record, which had stood since 2002, with his winning time the new benchmark.

The WN10/01 saw riders start outside Thurso before heading out on the A9 and rising for the turn at the junction with the A882.

Davidson finished second in the Caithness CC 25 on a shortened version of the same course the previous day.

The event was the second of three as part of the Caithness Festival of Cycling.

The victory was his first since the Glasgow Nightingale CC 10 in April 2018.

After winning the Caithness CC 25 the previous day Iain MacLeod (Kelpie Racing) was this time pushed into second by his team-mate finishing 12 seconds down in 20-13.

Thomas Gelati (Kelpie Racing) finished third behind his two team-mates in the previous day’s Caithness CC 25 and had to settle for the same result over the shortened distance clocking 20-26 on this occasion.

Alasdair Washington (Caithness CC) was quickest veteran on standard with his time of 27-31 equating to +5.29.

Meanwhile, in the women’s event Stevenson took over two and a half minutes off the previous course record, set in 2018, setting a new benchmark of 23 minutes and three seconds.

Stevenson finished second in the Glasgow Wheelers 26 last season but went one better this time out.

Lorna Breetzke (Elgin CC) took second in 24-29 while Olga Tierney (Orkney CC) backed up her second in the previous day’s Caithness CC 25 with a third placed finish clocking 25-33.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



1. Jamie Davidson (Kelpie Racing)                              20.01

2. Iain MacLeod (Kelpie Racing)                                  20.13

3. T. Gelati (Kelpie Racing)                                            20.26

4 Alasdair Munro (RT23)                                                21.01

5. Martin Reynolds (Kelpie Racing)                           21.26

6. Gavin Shirley (Studio Velo)                                      21.48



1. Natalie Stevenson (Eat Plants Not Pigs CC)       23.03

2. Lorna Breetzke (Elgin CC)                                                         24.29

3. Olga Tierney (Orkney CC)                                         25.33

4. Jo Donaldson (Orkney CC)                                       25.44

5. Martha Gates (Moray Firth CC)                                              26.38

6. Deborah Larnach (Caithness CC)                                           27.08

Veteran on std: Alasdair Washington (Caithness CC) (27.31) +5.29