Caithness CC (Caithness Weekend)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 26-Jun-21
  • Time: 15:00
  • Distance: 25 Miles
  • Course: WN25/01
  • Closing Date: 19-Jun-21 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

MacLeod and Esson battle to victories in Caithness CC 25

  • Published: 28 Jun 21
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+

Iain MacLeod set a new course record and led a one-two-three for Kelpie Racing in the Caithness CC 25, while Michelle Esson (Forres CC) won the women’s event.

MacLeod, aged 33, clocked a time of 51 minutes and 19 seconds over the undulating course knocking over two and a half minutes off the previous mark which had stood since 2002.

He was one of four riders to break the previous course record and took victory by just nine seconds from team-mate and scratch rider Jamie Davidson.

The Caithness CC 25 took place on Saturday afternoon and was the opening event of the Caithness Festival of Cycling with three events over two days.

The WN25/01 saw riders start and finish at Thurso before completing an out and back course starting on the A9 and then forking off onto the A882 and turning past Watten.

MacLeod had only one previous open time trial result to his name which was a third placed finish in the Glasgow Nightingale CC 10 in 2019.

He was the first of the final three riders away from the start who would all decide the podium positions.

Scratch rider Jamie Davidson could not beat his Kelpie Racing team-mate coming up nine seconds short in 51-28 while Thomas Gelati completed the one-two-three in 52-36.

Quickest veteran on standard was Peter Ettles (RT23) whose time of 55-31 equated to a +14.08.

In the women’s event Esson was a minute down on the course record taking victory in one hour, five minutes and 42 seconds.

It was veteran Esson’s first open time trial and she showed her talent to take the win by 34 seconds.

Olga Tieney (Orkney CC) was last woman off but had to settle for second on this occasion in 1-06-16 ahead of team-mate Jo Donaldson.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.


1. Iain MacLeod (Kelpie Racing)                            51.19

2. Jamie Davidson (Kelpie Racing)                                  51.28

3. Thomas Gelati (Kelpie Racing)                             52.36

4. Alasdair Munro (RT23)                                                            53.37

5. Martin Reynolds (Kelpie Racing)                                           54.08

6. Jed Scott (Moray Firth CC)                                       54.25

Veteran on std: Peter Ettles (RT23) (55.31) +14.08



1. Michelle Esson (Forres CC)                                      1.05.42

2. Olga Tieney (Orkney CC)                                                          1.06.16

3. Jo Donaldson (Orkney CC)                                       1.07.13

4. Deborah Larnach (Caithness CC)                                           1.10.04

5. Lorna Stanger (Caithness CC)                                 1.13.50

6. Martine Hughes (Caithness CC)                                             1.27.28