Tyneside Vagabonds CC (inc N&DCA 100 Mile Champs)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 05-Sep-21
  • Time: 07:00
  • Distance: 100 Miles
  • Course: M100/10
  • Closing Date: 24-Aug-21 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Schubert and McMahon take wins in the Tyneside Vagabonds 100

  • Published: 05 Sep 21
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Jen McMahon. Pics: Dub Devlin Photography.

Marcel Schubert (Darlington CC) proved fastest at the Tyneside Vagabonds 100-mile time trial near Morpeth, while Jen McMahon (Sub Rosa) claimed top spot in the women’s event.

40-year-old scratch man Schubert picked up the win in 3:48:08 to fend off Robbie Mitchell (Auchencrow Thistle CC) in second with 3:50:13, while the final spot on the podium went to Carl Donaldson (GS Metro) who finished in 3:52:13.

“With this being my first 100 since I crashed in the same event in 2019, I went out easy on the first lap to play it safe,” said 40-year-old Schubert, who has had good form in recent events. “I picked the pace up over the second and third laps, but the last lap was very hard.”

In the women’s event it was Jen McMahon who took the win, the 35-year-old finishing in 4:47:45 which was considerably faster than the next woman in line Rachael Maxwell (Border City Wheelers) with 5:27:38.

Other rides of note included junior Malachy Wicks of Manilla Cycling who was competing on a road bike and clocked 4:32:41.

Marcel Schubert

81-year-old veteran Joe Applegarth of Durham Triathlon Club completed the course in 6:44:00. Joe had the sense to pop back to his car which was parked on the course mid race for elevenses and to shed some clothing! He was grateful for a lift back to HQ by the Timekeepers when he completed his four laps.

The M100/10 course begins on Dark Lane and takes the riders towards the A197 where they head out on to the Pegswood Bypass, from there they follow the A197 round until reaching the A1868 which leads them north through Widdrington, Red Row and Hadston etc.




1 Marcel Schubert (Darlington CC) - 3:48:08

2 Robbie Mitchell (Auchencrow Thistle CC) - 3:50:13

3 Carl Donaldson (GS Metro) - 3:52:13

4 Andrew Duggan (Muckle CC) - 3:55:14

5 Mark Strang (Velo Culture) - 4:03:30



1 Jen McMahon (Sub Rosa) - 4:47:45

2 Rachael Maxwell (Border City Whs) - 5:27:38