Kent CA (Association event)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 18-Jul-21
  • Time: 07:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: Q10/6B
  • Closing Date: 06-Jul-21 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

No Course Map

If you have a map of this course, please email

Team-mates Fennell and Clay charge to victories in Kent CA 10

  • Published: 18 Jul 21
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Chris Fennell

The Independent Pedaler – Nopinz duo of Christopher Fennell and Alex Clay charged to victories in the Kent CA 10.

National 100-mile and Circuit Champion Fennell, aged 25, continued his unbeaten run and made it 11 wins in a row in a time of 18 minutes and 48 seconds.

The originally scheduled Kent CA 25 had to be shortened due to two sets of traffic lights on the A28 in Kent.

An alternative, little used course, saw riders start at the bottom of Molash hill before traveling along the A252 and then A28 out to the turn and then return on the same route finishing near Chilham Castle.

Scratch rider Fennell is targeting a haul of national crowns this season and will be hoping for two more next month in the National 25 and 50.

Last month Fennell clocked 17-40 to win the East Anglian VTTA 10 and despite his winning time being a minute slower on this occasion it was enough for victory by over a minute.

Nicholas Fennell (Thanet RC) led the chase behind finishing runner-up to his brother in a time of 20-15.

Quickest veteran was Andrew Meilak (VeloRefined Rule 5) whose time of 21-10 was good enough for third place overall.

Alex Clay

Second veteran was James Hawkins (Gemini BC) who clocked 22-32 while third veteran Paul Smith (VeloRefined Rule 5) was a further 20 seconds back (22-52).

Meanwhile, Clay was the only woman in the time trial event clocking a winning time of 21-21.

In the men’s road bike category Huseyin Vardal (Gemini BC) made it two wins from three events this season.

The veteran rider who won the Kent CA 50 in April continued his winning run clocking a time of 23-03 on this occasion.

Marc Dunn (Woolwich CC) was second in 23-46 while Julian Fussell (Southborough & Dist. Whs) completed the podium positions stopping the clock in 24-27.

In the women’s road bike event Rebecca Kearney (Will Houghton Racing Team (WHRT) was the only competitor and completed the course in 24-27.


1 Christopher Fennell (The Independent Pedaler – Nopinz) 18.48
2 Nicholas Fennell (Thanet RC) 20.15
3 Andrew Meilak (VeloRefined Rule 5) 21.10
4 James Hawkins (Gemini BC) 22.32
5 Paul Smith (VeloRefined Rule 5) 22.52
6 Simon Henderson (Thanet RC) 23.08

Woman: Alex Clay (The Independent Pedaler – Nopinz) 21.21

Road bike
1 Huseyin Vardal (Gemini BC) 23.03
2 Marc Dunn (Woolwich CC) 23.46
3 Julian Fussell (Southborough & Dist. Whs) 24.27

Woman: Rebecca Kearney (Will Houghton Racing Team (WHRT) 24.27