Southborough & District Wheelers

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 29-May-21
  • Time: 14:30
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: Q10/33
  • Closing Date: 18-May-21 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Fennell and Allum victorious in Southborough 10

  • Published: 30 May 21
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Nicholas Fennell

Nicholas Fennell (Thanet RC) set a new course record on his way to victory in the Southborough & District Wheelers 10-mile time trial, while Jennifer Allum (TORQ Performance) won the women’s event.

Fennell claimed his second win of the season in spectacular fashion, breaking a three-year-old record set by Neil Lauder. 20:10 was the time of the new record, reducing Lauder’s time by three seconds.

Starting on scratch after a win in Kent last weekend, the Thanet RC rider accomplished back-to-back wins for the first time this season, having finished on the podium in all but one of the open events he has participated in this year.

In addition to Fennell, the other two rider’s that filled the men’s podium were Peter Merritt (TBW23 Stuart Hall Cycling) and Joshua Clark (Royal Navy & Royal Marines CA). Merritt clocking in at 20:15 while Clark’s time was 20:58.

Merritt set a new ten-mile personal best, bettering his previous mark of 20:44 by 29 seconds while competing in only his second open event of this distance this season. Meanwhile Clark claimed his first podium of 2021.

Paul Burrows (Thanet RC) was the fastest veteran on the day finishing in 21:38, which landed him a fifth-place finish overall. His highest placed finish in any open event that he has participated in, according to his CTT record.

36-year-old Jennifer Allum (TORQ Performance) charged to victory in the women’s event in a time of 25:16. Another impressive outing since her last win five days prior.

Kate Thomas (Lewes Wanderers CC) followed a minute behind at 26:16, whilst Tracy Wilkinson-Begg (TWB – On Time Race Team) claimed the final spot on the women’s podium with the time 27:21.

As well as confirming a podium finish Thomas was also the fastest female veteran on the day.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission. This report by Neral Buckley.




1 Nicholas Fennell     Thanet RC   20.10

2 Peter Merritt  TBW23 Stuart Hall Cycling    20.15

3 Joshua Clark   Royal Navy & Royal Marines CA      20.58

4 Joe Benians    Lewes Wanderers CC     21.22

5 Paul Burrows   Thanet RC   21.38

6 Paul Sewell    Bigfoot CC  21.38



1 Jennifer Allum TORQ Performance 25.16

2 Kate Thomas    Lewes Wanderers CC     26.16

3 Tracy Wilkinson-Begg TWB - On Time RT 27.21

4 Susan Walbrook Thanet RC   27.51

5 Debbie Percival Kent Velo Girls/Boys   28.1

6 Natasha Jarman Southborough & Dist Whs      28.39


Veterans on std:

1 Paul Burrows   Thanet RC +4.45 

2 Paul Sewell    Bigfoot CC +4.41

3 Mark Valios    Partenza-Nude Espresso RT +4.41   


Team: Thanet RC (Nicholas Fennell, Paul Burrows, Christopher Bax) 1.08.10