Coventry CC (Women) (60 riders)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 02-May-21
  • Time: 08:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: K11/10T
  • Closing Date: 20-Apr-21 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Giddings does the double in Coventry 10, Morris fastest woman

  • Published: 03 May 21
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+

Josh Giddings (Z Junior Race Team) completed a weekend double with victory in the Coventry CC 10-mile time trial in Warwickshire on Sunday, while Anna Morris (AeroLab Ward Wheelz) was fastest female.

Having won the Coalville Wheelers 10 the day before, 17-year-old Giddings made it two out of two with a time of 19-08 which gave him victory by ten seconds from Richard Oakes (Team Ohten Aveas), while David Mead (Race Rapid) was third quickest male in 19-26.

Morris, 25, clocked 21-28 to win the women’s event by 1-47 from Gabriella Homer (Rupelcleaning Champion Lubricants) while Naomi de Pennington (Banbury Star CC) was another four seconds back in third spot.

The popular K11/10t course begins and ends near Thurlaston, and takes riders along the A45 London Road, heading west towards Ryton-on-Dunsmore where they turn and retrace.

Outside of the virtual podium places, fourth went to Nicholas Trbovic (Cheshire Maverick) in 19-41, while Sam Hucks from the High Wycombe CC clocked 19-53 for fifth spot. The other riders under 20 minutes were Edward Calow of the RAF CA with 19-54 and Luke Norris of Banbury Star CC) with 19-58 for sixth and seventh respectively.

And in the women’s event Lydia Watts (Liv AWOL) missed out on the podium by 20 seconds and was fourth with 23-39, while Janet Birkmyre (TORQ Performance) was fifth in exactly 24 minutes.

This weekend’s two victories for Giddings were his first of 2021, having previously placed second in the VTTA Notts and East Midlands 10 and the Vive Le Velo 10.

Meanwhile, the win for Anna Morris comes after she placed second in the Stratford CC 10 a fortnight earlier on the Salford Priors course.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.




Pos   Rider Club  Time

1     Joshua Giddings  Z Junior RT 19:08

2     Richard Oakes    Team Ohten Aveas 19:18

3     David Mead  Race Rapid  19:26

4     Nicholas Trbovic Cheshire Maverick 19:41

5     Sam Hucks   High Wycombe CC  19:53

6     Edward Calow     Royal Air Force CA     19:54

7     Luke Norris Banbury Star CC  19:58

8     Jack Fothergill  Team Jewson-MI Racing  20:20

9     Jon  Howard Team Echelon     20:22

10    Ben Pierce  Team Jewson-MI Racing  20:24



Pos   Rider Club  Time

1     Anna Morris Aero Lab Ward WheelZ   21:28

2     Gabriella Homer  Rupelcleaning champion- Lubricants 23:15

3     Naomi De Pennington    Banbury Star CC  23:19

4     Lydia Watts Liv AWOL    23:39

5     Janet Birkmyre   TORQ Performance 24:00

6     Gemma Johnson    Beacon Roads CC  24:10

7     Denise Burrows   AeroCoach   24:43

8     Susan Semple     Stafford RC 24:54

9     Fay Barrington   Banbury Star CC  25:16

=10   Jenny Hill  Army Cycling     25:17

=10   Gail Lowe   Congleton CC     25:21