Sussex CA

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 29-Aug-20
  • Time: 10:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: g10/45
  • Closing Date: 18-Aug-20 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Christensen and Johnson battle to victories in Sussex CA 10

  • Published: 30 Aug 20
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+

Ryan Christensen ( found his form once again to take a slender victory by seven seconds in the Sussex CA 10, while Ione Johnson (Team LDN) set a women’s course record on her way to a road bike category victory.

With no racing currently in Great Britain professional rider Christensen has turned his hand to time trialling.

After also winning the Addiscombe 10 last month Christensen battled the tough conditions to take his second victory in a time of 20-58 – averaging over 28.6 miles per hour.

After early rain, temperatures rose during the event from 13 to 16 degrees, but a cool northerly wind which began gusting made it challenging for riders.

The G10/45 course saw riders start outside Foxbridge Golf Course before heading south to Kirdford before looping back north via Ifold and across to Plaistow before heading to the finish.

Despite tough conditions Christensen rose to the challenge, finally taking another win after a run of two top-four placings.

Veteran Chris McNamara (Nuun-Sigma Sport-London RT) finished 53 seconds ahead of Christensen last weekend on his way to winning the Southdown Velo 25 last weekend.

However, over the shorter distance Christensen turned the tables with McNamara finishing in 21-05.

Josh Copley (TBW23 Stuart Hall Cycling Gett Taxi) completed the podium places in 21-29.

Meanwhile winner of the event for the last four years and course record holder James Boyman (Hoops Velo) had to settle for fifth on this occasion in 21-38. 

In the men’s road bike event, James Bonham (Paceline RT) won in a new road bike course record of 23-04- knocking 50 seconds off the previous mark.

Just three seconds behind was Mark Aldred (Kingston Wheelers CC) while Gareth Thomas (Paceline RT) finished third in 23-21. 

The medium gear “10” event was won by Tony Reeves (GS Stella) in 26-33 while the hub gear “10” category was clinched by David French (Weybridge Wheelers) in 25-10.

A course record also fell in the women’s road bike category with Ione Johnson (Team LDN) clocking an excellent 24-55.

Her time was so good it was also a new course record for time trial bikes on the course, improving considerably on Lisa Davis’ time of 26-11 on a time trial bike in 2017. 

Charlotte Hodgkins-Byrne (Paceline RT) finished second in 25-48, which was also inside the old record.

After winning the Bec CC 25 earlier this month Becca Drake (BellaVelo cc) took another victory in the women’s time trial event in 27-12 ahead of Erica Martin (Eastbourne Rovers CC) in 30-06.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



TT bikes:

1 Ryan Christensen ( 20. 58

2 Chris McNamara (Nuun-Sigma Sport-London RT) 21.05

3 Josh Copley (TBW23 Stuart Hall Cycling Gett Taxi) 21.29

4 Nicholas Fennell (Thanet RC) 21.36

5 James Boyman (Hoops Velo) 21.38

6 Matthew Smith (Team TMC) 21.41

=7 Lukas Nerurkar (VC de Londres) 22.28

=7 Mark Smith (Crawley Whls) 22.28

9 Steve Kane (Team TMC) 22.30

10 Robert Moore (Nuun-Sigma Sport-London RT) 22.31


Road bikes’ “10”:

1 James Bonham (Paceline RT) 23.04

2 Mark Aldred (Kingston Wheelers CC) 23.07

3 Gareth Thomas (Paceline RT) 23.21

=4 Paul Newsome (Project 51) 23.42

=4 Mike Coyle (Brighton Mitre CC) 23.42