Aylesbury CC

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 08-Jun-19
  • Time: 14:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: HCC178
  • Closing Date: 28-May-19 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Kaye and Avery quickest in Aylesbury TT

  • Published: 09 Jun 19
  • Written By: Snowdon Sports
F | T | G+

Veteran Allison Kaye and espoir Joshua Avery were fastest female and male riders respectively at the Aylesbury CC 10-mile time trial in Buckinghamshire on Saturday.

Kaye (Verulam CC), the 55-year-old from Radlett in Hertfordshire who has competed for GB in duathlon and triathlon, covered the course near Princes Risborough in 30-34 to take the women’s prize by just two seconds from Samantha Messenger (Bicester Millennium CC).

And 20-year-old Avery, the Aylesbury-based rider with Vision innovative Leisure RT, clocked 22-13 to win overall by ten seconds from trainSharp veteran Peter Tadros, while Matt Smith (CC Hackney) was another 22 seconds back in third.

The HCC178 course uses minor roads to the north of Princes Risborough, looping through Longwick and up through the hamlets of Meadle and Ford before turning west towards Haddenham and back down to the finish.

Kaye’s win is her second open time trial victory of 2019, coming after she was fastest female at the Maidenhead and District CC 29/5-mile event back in early March. She is next due to be in action at the Hemel Hempstead CC 10 next Saturday, while she has also entered the Hemel Hempstead 25 the following Sunday.

Avery is better known for his road racing exploits, having secured several top ten placings in events in 2019 so far. He hasn’t ridden any open time trials this season and so was not a seeded rider – something that may well change next time he tests himself against the clock!

Below the podium places, High Wycombe CC’s junior talent Sam Hucks covered the course in 23-02 which gave him fourth overall, while Gavin Stevens (RAF CA) was another 20 seconds back in fifth.

Second junior Theo Tadros (trainSharp) – son of fastest veteran and second-placed overall Peter Tadros – clocked 23-47 for sixth overall, one minute and five seconds quicker than Dan Charleston (High Wycombe CC) in seventh.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



Pos   Name        Team  Cat   Time

1     Joshua      Avery Vision Innovative Leisure RT  Espoir      22:13

2     Peter Tadros      trainSharp  Veteran     22:23

3     Matt Smith  Cycling Club Hackney    Veteran     22:45

4     Sam   Hucks High Wycombe CC   Junior      23:02

5     Gavin Stevens     RAF CA      Senior      23:22

6     Theo  Tadros      trainSharp  Junior      23:47

7     Dan   Charleston  High Wycombe CC   Veteran     24:52

8     Gerry Vece  Aylesbury CC      Veteran     25:02

9     Stephen     Lams  VCT Racing  Veteran     25:08

10    Jason Davies      RAF CA      Veteran     25:20

11    Jim   Higson      CC London   Senior      25:22

12    Ben   Davies      Aylesbury CC      Veteran     25:24

13    Trevor      Hook  Team Milton Keynes      Veteran     25:35

14    Nick  Marks CC London   Veteran     26:04

15    Jacob Avery Aylesbury CC      Junior      26:16

16    Tom   Rogers      CC London   Senior      26:21

17    Paul Newman      Aylesbury CC      Veteran     29:33

18    Stephen     Messenger   Bicester Millennium CC  Veteran     30:05

19    Allison     Kaye  Verulam CC  Veteran     30:34

20    Samantha    Messenger   Bicester Millennium CC  Veteran     30:36

      Neal  Beauchamp   Rapha Cycling Club      Senior      DNF

      Leslie      Morris      VTTA (London & Home Cos)      Veteran     DNS

      David Atkinson    VCT Racing  Veteran     DNS

      Paul  Shuttleworth      Team Shuttle      Veteran     DNS

      Julie       Shuttleworth      Team Shuttle      Veteran     DNS

      Kamran      Ezel  Southgate CC      Senior      DNS

      Les   Gardner     Maidenhead & District CC      Veteran     DNS

      Stephen     Clark Bicester Millennium CC  Senior      DNS

      Andrew      Grant Chelmer CC  Veteran     DNS

      Michelle    Ayres South Bucks RC    Veteran     DNS

      Matthew     Durdy London Baroudeurs Cycling Club      Veteran     DNS