Wolsey R.C. (Men)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 28-Apr-19
  • Time: 07:30
  • Distance: 25 Miles
  • Course: B25/50
  • Closing Date: 16-Apr-19 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Wins for Pritchard and Senter in Wolsey 25

  • Published: 28 Apr 19
  • Written By: Snowdon Sports
F | T | G+
Matt Senter

Matthew Senter took his first victory of the season in less than perfect conditions at the Wolsey RC 25, while Amy Pritchard (Team Bottrill) retained her title in women’s event in Suffolk.

The deceivingly undulating B25/50 which runs out and back along the A143 on the Norfolk and Suffolk border, was hampered by dull and cold conditions on Sunday morning.

Senter, aged 38 and from Kings Lynn, had a host of wins to his name last season and took his first of this campaign with a winning time of 52 minutes and 24 seconds.

He finished 34 seconds ahead of the chasing Lloyd Chapman (Plomesgate CC) while Antony Birt (Plomesgate CC) took third in 57.33.

“I was going to treat it as a training ride due to the conditions but when I got to the event it was fine,” said Senter.

“I would have been quicker but I had problems with my visor which steamed up due to the cold so I couldn’t see. I had to take it off and clean it off and I was on for a time in the 50s but ended up in the 52s.

“It is my first win of the season as I haven’t done a lot of racing. This season I have shifted my focus to the ECCA events so won’t be racing every week.”

Amy Pritchard

The scratch rider following her victory the previous year, veteran rider Pritchard clinched victory once again with a winning time of 1:00.59.

In warmer and calmed conditions last year Pritchard took the women’s course record with a time of 1:00.33 on that occasion.

Jennifer Smart (Team Velovelocity) was second woman home in 1:04.52 while Jan Smith (Great Yarmouth CC) finished third in 1:07.26.

After fielding a host of riders in the women’s event Giant Camden Team Liv were rewarded by taking the team prize.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



1 Matthew Senter (Peterborough CC) 52.24
2 Lloyd Chapman (Plomesgate CC) 52.58
3 Antony Birt (Plomesgate CC) 57.33
4 James Rush (CC Sudbury) 1:00.29
5 Philip Watkins (North Norfolk Whs) 1:00.39


1 Amy Pritchard (Team Bottrill) 1:00.59
2 Jennifer Smart (Team Velovelocity) 1:04.52
3 Jan Smith (Great Yarmouth CC) 1:07.26

Team: Giant Camden Team Liv