Andover Wheelers (Hardriders 24)(TT Bikes)(STTS)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 24-Feb-19
  • Time: 09:00
  • Distance: 24 Miles
  • Course: P614
  • Closing Date: 12-Feb-19 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Record field attends Andover Wheelers hardriders TT

  • Published: 27 Feb 19
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Alan Murchison

A record field basked in spring-like conditions for the Andover Wheelers’ hardriders’ 24-mile time trial in Wiltshire on Sunday morning.

The P614 course near Ludgershall attracted strong entries for both the time trial and road bike categories, with new course records set by the winners of both those disciplines.

Alan Murchison (Drag2zero) was fastest in the road bike event, the 47-year-old from Winchester covering the course in 58-35, while Ed Slot (Sotonia CC) was second fastest overall, 25 seconds off Murchison’s pace.

The winner of the road bike category in 2018, Dave Dent (GS Stella) had to settle for third this time but was actually 47 seconds quicker than his time from 12 months ago.

Fastest woman in the road bike event was Lara Taylor, the 45-year-old VC Godalming and Haslemere rider, whose time of 1-11-17 gave her the win by more than four minutes from team-mate Ali Walters.

Bournemouth Arrow’s Michelle Walter was third fastest woman, while Dan Banks (VC Venta) clocked 1-07-16 to take the junior and espoir prize in the road bike event.

Didcot Phoenix CC rider Henry Latimer was fastest in the time trial bike category, clocking 55-50 to leave last year’s TT category winner Matthew Buckley (Andover Wheelers) second this time, despite going around two minutes quicker than his winning time from 2018.

Latimer, 25 and from Wallingford in Oxfordshire, stopped the watches in 55-50, giving him the win by 41 seconds from Buckley, while Gavin Hinxman (Drag2zero0 was third, almost three minutes further back.

Of the women taking part in the time trial event victory went to Kirsty McSeveney (a3crg) with 1-05-49, while Corinne Clark (Team Swindon Cycles) was 32 seconds back in second and Jess Atkinson (Team 22) was third.

The course started in Faberstown before heading out towards Dales Wood/Bourne Park Airfield and on to Hurstbourne Tarrant and Tidcombe. The riders then followed the A338 to the finish near Collingbourne Ducis.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.