Border City Whs CC (hilly)(L&L Spoco)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 12-May-19
  • Time: 11:00
  • Distance: 29 Miles
  • Course: L291
  • Closing Date: 30-Apr-19 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Cumbria hilly win for Moorhouse and Turvey

  • Published: 13 May 19
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Matt Moorhouse

Matt Moorhouse and Anna Turvey were fastest male and female riders respectively at Sunday’s Border City Wheelers hilly 29-mile time trial in Cumbria.

Moorhouse, the 43-year-old Preston CC rider, covered the course south of Dalston in 1-08-33 in near perfect conditions to win by just 18 seconds from Border City Wheelers’ Richard Bickley, who has finished on the podium in this event for the last four consecutive years.

Last year’s winner Richard Bideau (Pendle Forest CC) was just two seconds further back in third in one of the closest podiums seen for several years for this event.

Meanwhile, former national 10-mile competition record holder and Ireland track star Anna Turvey clocked 1-15-44 for the event, the 39-year-old Drag2zero star winning the women’s prize by more than 13 minutes from Jan Scotchford (North Lancashire RC) while 2016 event winner Carol Westmorland (Border City Wheelers) was just 22 seconds further back in third place.

The L291 is a challenging course with much climbing. It takes riders from a start south of Dalston and down the B5299 and through Welton before turning right and looping round through Rosley, Westward, Caldbeck and Sebergham then heading back up to the finish at Dalston.

Anna Turvey

The victory for Moorhouse comes after he was also the winner in Derwentside CC’s 40-mile event last weekend – where Turvey was also the fastest female.

Moorhouse is a man in form so far this season, having placed second in the Kent Valley CC 28.5-mile event last month as well as third in the Nelson Wheelers hilly 50 (where he pipped Bideau to third by 2-13) and the North Lancs Road Club hilly 30 (which Bideau won, more than two minutes quicker than Moorhouse).

Turvey, the reigning National 10- and 50-mile Champion, has hit form this season following a brief spell of illness which saw her miss her first two scheduled rides of 2019.

But after being the fastest female in the Cleveland Wheelers hilly 25 in late April and also winning the Derwentside CC 40 last weekend, she is back to great form.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



Pos   Name        Club  Cat   Time

1     Matt  Moorhouse   Preston CC  V40   1.08.33

2     Richard     Bickley     Border City Whs CC      Sen   1.08.51

3     Richard     Bideau      Pendle Forest CC  V40   1.08.53

4     Craig       Horseman    Beacon Wheelers   V40   1.09.11

5     David Powell      Horwich Cycling Club    V40   1.11.10

6     Emil  Petrov      Border City Whs CC      Sen   1.14.01

7     Kieran      Lacey Barrow Central Wheelers V40   1.14.20

8     Anna  Turvey      DRAG2ZERO   Fem   1.15.44

9     Bryan Pool  Border City Whs CC      V50   1.17.17

10    David Hill  Velo Club Cumbria Sen/Esp     1.17.54

11    Neil  Withington  Beacon Wheelers   V40   1.18.15

12    Paul  Braithwaite Pendle Forest CC  V40   1.19.36

13    Colin Mckenna     Barrow Central Wheelers V50   1.20.32

14    Russell     Marsden     Pendle Forest CC  V50   1.21.23

15    Matthew     Atkinson    Beacon Wheelers   Sen   1.21.32

16    Roy   Flanagan    Rossendale RC     V60+  1.21.50

17    Martin      Welsh Pendle Forest CC  V50   1.22.00

18    Derek Schofield   Rossendale RC     V60+  1.24.29

19    Mike  Westmorland Border City Whs CC      V60+  1.25.10

20    Tim   Bennett     Kent Valley RC    V50   1.26.15

21    Alex  Forbes      Border City Whs CC      V50   1.28.15

22    Ross  Strachan    Loudoun Road Club V40   1.28.36

23    Jan   Scotchford  North Lancashire RC     Fem/V50     1.29.15

24    Carol Westmorland Border City Whs CC      Fem/V50     1.29.37

25    Paul  Warrener    Rossendale RC     V50   1.29.55

26    Nick Higginson   Cleveleys Road Club     Sen   1.30.34

27    Richard     Belk  Kent Valley RC    V60+  1.32.17

28    Claire      Rushton     Kent Valley RC    Fem/V40     1.33.41

29    Amy   Whelan      Barrow Central Wheelers Fem   1.34.01

30    Peter Knott Kent Valley RC    V60+  2.11.35

      Eamonn      Quinn Lakes Road Club   V50   DNS Apols

      Peter Haigh Nelson Whs CC     V60+  DNS Apols

      Martyn      Blenkinship Border City Whs CC      V40   DNS Apols

      Julie Mann  Transition Race Team    Fem /V40    DNS

      Dave  Nicholl     Barrow Central Wheelers V40   DNS

      Charlotte   Boothman    ABC Centreville   Fem   DNS

      Randle      Shenton     Team Swift  V60+  DNF

      Dougi Hall  Border City Whs CC      V50   DNF