Pontypool RCC (Welsh Championship)(Women)(4 events 240 riders Max)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 11-Aug-19
  • Time: 08:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: R10/17
  • Closing Date: 02-Aug-19 20:59
  • Categories:
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Morris and Ward secure Welsh 10 titles

  • Published: 12 Aug 19
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Anna Morris

Anna Morris and Tom Ward (both AeroLab Ward WheelZ) secured the Welsh Senior 10-Mile Championship crowns at the title race in Gwent on Sunday.

Promoted by Pontypool RCC, the event used the R10/17 course near Abergavenny which 25-year-old Ward covered in 18-48 to take the title was 20 seconds from lee Perrott (Cycle Specific), while third spot went to George Evans (Team Bottrill) who was another 13 seconds back.

And 24-year-old Morris clocked 21-22 to be crowned women’s champion by 27 seconds from Welsh 25-mile champion Stephanie Post (Team Bottrill), while Jessica Rhodes-Jones (AeroCoach) was another eight seconds back in third.

In other categories, Joshua Tarling (Team Backstedt Bike Performance) covered the course in 20-04 to finish as top juvenile and was seventh fastest overall, while the junior prize went to Kieran Morris (Total Tri Training) with 21-39.

Tom Ward

Ward’s win was by ne means his first of the season.

He has also been crowned Welsh CA 25 and 30-mile Championship winner this season, with a host of other victories to his name including the Sportzmad 10 on this same course back in June where he was just one second slower than in this event, as well as the Bromsgrove Olympic CC 10 in May.

And Morris was third fastest female at the Welsh 25-Mile Championship behind Post and Alice Lethbridge back in May, while she was second behind Post in the Welsh 30-Mile Championship in July.

The event uses the A40, starting to the south of Abergavenny just beyond Abergavenny Airstrip and heading east to the turn at Raglan, before retracing.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.


Pos   Name        Club  Age   Cat   Time

1     Tom   Ward  AeroLab Ward WheelZ    25    M     18:48

2     Lee   Perrott     Cycle Specific   40    MV    19:08

3     George      Evans Team Bottrill    21    M     19:21

4     B Xavier    Disley      AeroCoach   34    M     19:23

5     Samuel      Tillett     Wales Racing Academy   20    M     19:33

6     Owen  Burgess     Newport Phoenix CC     35    M     19:44

7     Joshua      Tarling     Team Backstedt Bike Performance    15    Juv   20:04

8     Luke Dix   Cardiff Jif 40    MV    20:11

9     Andy  Davies      Cardiff Jif 37    M     20:18

10    Matt Smith  CC Hackney  43    MV    20:19



1     Anna  Morris      AeroLab Ward WheelZ    24    F     21:22

2     Stephanie   Post  Team Bottrill    33    F     21:49

3     Jessica     Rhodes-Jones     AeroCoach   29    F     21:57

4     Jo    Buckland    PDQ Cycle Coaching     52    FV    23:32

5     Joanne      Jago  Performance Cycles CC  38    F     23:51

6     Michelle    Fishbourne  CES Sport   52    FV    24:33

7     Rosey Mushens     73 Degrees Bicycles    54    FV    24:54

8     Deborah     Sheridan    Warwickshire Road Club 62    FV    25:04

9     Katherine   Brace Tenby Aces CC    39    F     26:06

10    Amanda      Lane  Bynea Cycling Club     39    F     27:25



1     Kieran      Morris      Total Tri Training     18    Jun   21:39