poole wheelers

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 20-May-18
  • Time: 07:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: p415
  • Closing Date: 08-May-18 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

No Course Map

If you have a map of this course, please email courses@cyclingtimetrials.org.uk

Cartwright and Jago victorious in Poole Wheelers 10

  • Published: 20 May 18
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Tim Cartwright

Joanne Jago and Tim Cartwright were fastest female and male riders respectively at the Gary Dighton Memorial 10-mile time trial staged by Poole Wheelers in Dorset on Sunday.

Jago, 37 and from Bristol, claimed open victory number five with her win in the women’s category with a time of 22-46, while Cartwright took victory by almost one minute from his nearest rival with an impressive 18-40 to set a new course record.

It was a second open win of the season for Cartwright, 39 and from Thatcham in Berkshire, who also won the Andover Wheelers 25 earlier this month and was second in the Charlotteville CC 50 in April.

Joanne Jago

His time of 18-40 was 57 seconds quicker than 20-year-old Sam Wadsley (Primera TeamJobs), while third spot went to another Primera rider in Paul Jones, the 47-year-old clocking 19-48.

The P415 takes riders from Upton to the Bakers Arms roundabout and back, and with conditions good Cartwright – who was second in last year’s National 25-mile Championship - set a new course record.

Jago’s time was 46 seconds quicker than the next fastest female in 35-year-old Louisa Cooper (Bournemouth Jubilee Wheelers), while Kirsty McSeveney (Fareham Wheelers) was third, another 13 seconds adrift.

The victory completed a weekend double for Jago, who was also fastest female in the previous day’s Westbury Wheelers 26-mile event in Wiltshire. And for the season so far it was win number five, having taking victories in the Western TTA 31, the Gloucester City CC 25 and the Gillingham and District Wheelers 19.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



1. Tim Cartwright (Newbury RC)      18.40

2. Samuel Wadsley (Primera-Teamjobs)      19.37

3. Paul Jones (Primera-Teamjobs)    19.48

4. Shawn Gray (Gillingham and District)   19.56

=5. Greg Parker (CC Weymouth) 20.19

=5. Julian Lockwood (Primera-Teamjobs)    20.19

7. Andrew Cooper (Bournemouth Jubilee)    20.21

8. John Samways (Bournemouth Jubilee)     20.23

9. Jason Gault (Primera-Teamjobs)   20.24

10. Neil Mackley (Fareham Wheelers CC)    20.25


Women: Joanne Jago (Performance Cycles CC)      22.46