Scarborough Paragon CC (Yorkshire Spoco Event)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 01-Sep-18
  • Time: 14:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: v415
  • Closing Date: 21-Aug-18 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Brearley and Lewthwaite take narrow wins

  • Published: 02 Sep 18
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+

Sarah Lewthwaite and John Brearley claimed top spots in the Scarborough Paragon CC hosted 10-mile time trial.

The penultimate round of the Yorkshire Points Series brought about a tense event, seeing the major placing being finalised by mere seconds.

John Brearley (Squadra RT) tackled the unfavourable south westerly winds in East Yorkshire to finish fastest for the first time in open time trialling in four months.

Brearley’s last win came in the Barton Wheelers 10 in April and has come an agonising second three times since then but recaptured the limelight with a time of 22-52.

Sarah Lewthwaite (Team Sportslab) maintained an impressive run of form in the women’s category as she notched up her 10th win of the season and eighth in her last 10 outings in open events.

Lewthwaite failed to continue an imperious string of wins last weekend and had to settle for second but her time of 25-42 assured her time away from the top wasn’t all too long.

The top three women were covered by 21 seconds – Sian Randall (Team Jadan-Weldtite) pushed Lewthwaite the closest but was 16 seconds adrift in 25-58. Hannah Bayes (Liv AWOL) was third, crossingin 26-03.

The men’s category was closely run and Anthony Ashworth (Wetherby Wheelers) had put in a time of 22-55 earlier in the afternoon, missing out on the victory by three seconds but was able to take the ‘veterans on standard’ prize as he was +3-50.

Despite being 30 seconds down the road from Ashworth, third place was hotly contested with three riders all within two seconds of each other.

Chris Day (Selby CC) was the man with the bragging rights of the trio as he crossed the line in 23-25. The two trailing men were Michael Schofield (York Cycle Works) in 23-26 and Richard Sharp (Team Swift) in 23-27.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission. This report by Jack Cudworth.


1. John Brearley (Squadra RT)           22.52

2. Anthony Ashworth (Wetherby Wheelers)  22.55

3. Chris Day (Selby CC)         23.25

4. Michael Schofield (York Cycle Works)     23.26

5. Richard Sharp (Team Swift)           23.27

=6. Steve Dodds (Scarborough Paragon CC) 23.33

=6. Mark Walker (Wold Top Actif RT)          23.33



1. Sarah Lewtwaite (Team Sportslab) 25.42

2. Sian Randall (Team Jadan-Weldtite)          25.58

3. Hannah Bayes (Liv AWOL) 26.03


Juvenile: Liam Davison (Team JRC)  24.31


Veteran on Std: Anthony Ashworth +3.50