fssaa (gs metro)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 15-Jul-17
  • Time: 14:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: m105
  • Closing Date: 04-Jul-17 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Nichols and Powell takes victories in FSSAA (GS Metro) 10

  • Published: 16 Jul 17
F | T | G+
Peter Nichols.

Peter Nichols (Race Hub) and Liz Powell (Mike Vaughan Cycles) took victories in the GS Metro 10 which incorporated the British Emergency Services Time Trial Championships.

Nichols who finished third in the 10 miles and 25 miles championships last year went better on this occasion to win the overall event.

Riders travelled from across the country for the two-day event, which saw the 25-mile championships on Sunday, were met with tough conditions and a rolling course for Saturday’s 10-mile event.

The 10-mile course saw riders start just outside Ponteland before travelling up to Ogle and turning left to join the A696 for the return journey.

Liz Powell.

Nichols clocked a winning 10-mile time of 20 minutes and 43 seconds to seal victory by 24 seconds.

Simon Beldon (SSLL Racing Team) who won the Sheffrec CC 25 earlier in the season had to settle for second on this occasion in 21.07 ahead of John Lucock (Police Sport UK) in third clocking 21.23.

Last year’s winner Chris Smart (GTR) had to settle for fourth finishing in 21.35.

In the women’s event veteran rider Liz Powell (Mike Vaughan Cycles) retained her 10-mile title with a winning time of 23.47.

She was followed home by Fiona Prew (Pro Vision Cycle Clothing) in 24.17 for second and Lisa Hurrell (Maldon & District CC) in third clocking 26.38.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



1 Peter Nichols (Race Hub) 20.43

2 Nichols (Race Hub) 21.07

3 John Lucock (Police Sport UK) 21.23

4 Nicholas Cousins (Derby Mercury CC) 22.00

5 Sandy Gourley (Penzance Whls CC) 22.23

6 Stewart Burke (Northumberland & Durham CC) 22.30

7 Blair Buss (SSLL Racing Team) 22.49

8 Matthew Hennon (Inverclyde Velo) 23.02

9 Darren Williamson (Muckle CC) 23.03

10 Terry Wilkinson (Tyne & Wear Fire & Rescue Service) 23.05

Women: Liz Powell (Mike Vaughan Cycles)