Thanet RC

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 10-Jun-17
  • Time: 15:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: q10/42
  • Closing Date: 30-May-17 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Jessett and Moore victorious in Thanet 10

  • Published: 11 Jun 17
F | T | G+
Robert Moore.

Robert Moore (Nuun-Sigma Sport) and Miriam Jessett (Tyneside Vagabonds CC) took victories at the Thanet Road Club 10-mile time trial, staged around Fowlmead Country Park near Deal in Kent on Saturday.

Moore made it two wins in a row with his winning performance on the Q10/42 course, which took in just short of five laps of the country park circuit. He also tasted victory in the previous week’s De Laune CC 10.

He covered the 10 miles in 20.44 to take the win by 1-23 from veteran Bill Hawkes, the Thanet RC rider who had to settle for fourth in the De Laune CC event seven days earlier.

Third spot went to another veteran, Mark Hill (VeloRefined Aerosmiths) who was 19 seconds further off the pace, while John Osborn (Folkestone Velo Club) was fourth with 22.40.

Newcastle-based teenager Jessett clocked 24.54 to take the win in the women’s category by 16 seconds from Nicola Goodban (Thanet RC), while third fastest female was Charmaine Pullen (Adalta CC), just one second further off the pace.

It was a deserved victory for 17-year-old Jessett, who has only recorded two other time trial performances – both last year – where she was top junior female in the Tyneside Vagabonds 47-mile TT, and placed an impressive seventh overall in a field of 67 for the Blaydon CC Christmas 12.6-mile TT last December. That performance put her almost seven minutes ahead of the next best woman.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



No.   Name  Club  Cat   Time

1     Robert Moore      Nuun-Sigma Sport-London RT    Senior      20:44

2     Bill Hawkes Thanet RC   Veteran     22:07

3     Mark Hill Aerosmiths    Veteran     22:26

4     John Osborn Folkestone Velo Club    Veteran     22:40

5     Richard Mcvey     Adalta Cycling Club     Veteran     22:45

6     Adrian Hawkins    Thanet RC   Veteran     22:52

7     Mike Kirkness     Thanet RC   Senior      22:54

8     Colin Newton      PMR @ Toachim House     Senior      23:04

9     Pete Elms Aerosmiths    Veteran     23:06

10    David Churchill   Bigfoot CC  Veteran     23:29

11    Adrian Lyons      GS Invicta - Eye Level Optical-     Veteran     23:29

12    Rory Hopcraft     MedwayTri   Senior      23:29

13    Fabien Large      Direct Power Cycling Team     Juvenile    23:41

14    Grant Cousins     BowlPhish Racing  Senior      23:48

15    Spencer Wood      BowlPhish Racing  Veteran     23:48

16    David Moffat      Thanet RC   Senior      23:52

17    David Danton      Thanet RC   Veteran     23:58

18    Danny Frost Folkestone Velo Club    Veteran     24:17

19    Gary Pullen Adalta Cycling Club     Veteran     24:23

20    Martin Russell    Thanet RC   Veteran     24:49

21    Miriam Jessett    Tyneside Vagabonds CC   Junior      24:54

22    Lance Childs      Thanet RC   Juvenile    24:54

23    George Pittock    Thanet RC   Juvenile    25:05

24    Nicola Goodban    Thanet RC   Veteran     25:10

25    Charmaine Pullen  Adalta Cycling Club     Veteran     25:11

26    Samuel Haymes     Dulwich Paragon CC      Junior      25:53

27    Paul Kirkness     Thanet RC   Veteran     26:02

28    Jill Cliff  GS Invicta - Eye Level Optical-     Veteran     26:18

29    Paul Kelk   Thanet RC   Veteran     26:23

30    David Anderson    Canterbury Bicycle Club Senior      26:32

31    Dave Mastin Thanet RC   Veteran     26:44

32    Robert Giles      PMR @ Toachim House     Veteran     26:58

33    Louise Moore      Deal Tri    Veteran     27:07

34    Mick James  PMR @ Toachim House     Veteran     27:29

35    Chris Childs      Thanet RC   Veteran     27:30

36    David Barnes      Gravesend CC      Veteran     27:37

37    Colin Inett Thanet RC   Veteran     27:45

38    Jay Miles   Hastings & St. Leonards CC    Veteran     28:30

39    Tim Miles   Hastings & St. Leonards CC    Veteran     28:35

40    Caroline Rigby    Thanet RC   Veteran     31:06

41    Dave Holmes Thanet RC   Veteran     31:13

42    Freya Cook  Thanet RC   Juvenile    33:34

43    Jennifer Fearn    Thanet RC   Veteran     34:57

44    Stephanie Waters  San Fairy Ann CC  Senior      38:04

45    Terry Fearn Thanet RC   Veteran     38:16

46    Dave Mitchell     Deal Tri    Veteran     DNS

47    Mark Carty  Tri Spirit Team   Veteran     DNS

48    Jody Coxon  Adalta Cycling Club     Senior      DNS

49    Simon Charles     Thanet RC   Veteran     DNS

50    Malcolm Adams     De Laune CC Veteran     DNS

51    David Smith VC de Londres     Senior      DNS

52    Adam Bale   Rapha Cycling Club      Senior      DNS

53    Kelly Wyld  4 T+ Velo Club    Veteran     DNS

54    Will Newman PMR @ Toachim House     Espoir      DNS

55    Shay Giles  He Elan - Harry Perry Cycles  Veteran     DNS