anfield bicycle club

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 29-May-17
  • Time: 06:00
  • Distance: 100 Miles
  • Course: D100/2A
  • Closing Date: 16-May-17 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Impressive Anfield 100 wins for Duggleby and Lewis

  • Published: 30 May 17
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+

Adam Duggleby (Vive le Velo) broke the course record on his way to victory in the Anfield BC 100-mile time trial on Bank Holiday Monday, while Becky Lewis (Mid-Shropshire Wheelers) was fastest woman.

Duggleby, the 32-year-old from Leeds who won a Paralympic gold medal alongside Steve Bate at Rio last year, clocked 3-31-08 to take the win by more than seven minutes from Richard Bideau (Pendle Forest CC), while Carl Donaldson (GS Metro) was third.

With several competition records already under his belt, few would bet against Duggleby breaking the 100-mile record later this season.

And Becky Lewis, the 36-year-old from Ellesmere in Shropshire, stormed to victory in the women’s event with a time of 4-12-45, which was good enough to place 18th overall in a field of 84 finishers.

Lewis took the win by around 13 minutes from Jill Wilkinson (Chester RC), while Jasmijn Muller (Born to Bike) was third, nearly 20 minutes slower than Lewis.

Second overall, Bideau was also second in the veterans on standard category with 65-year-old Peter Greenwood clocking 4-04-33 for an age standard plus of 1-12-56, giving him the win by just five seconds over Bideau.

Duggleby’s ride was all the more impressive when you consider that he also rode and won the Leicester Forest CC 50-mile time trial the day before.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.


1. Adam Duggleby (Vive le Velo)      3-31-08

2. Richard Bideau (Pendle Forest CC)           3-38-40

3. Carl Donaldson (GS Metro)           3-41-51

4. Mark Turnbull (TORQ Performance)         3-42-02

5. Mark Nulty (Glossop Kinder Velo)            3-45-17

6. Andy Jackson (SSLL Racing Team)          3-52-46


1. Becky Lewis (Mid-Shropshire Wh)            4-12-45

2. Jill Wilkinson (Chester RC)            4-25-10

3. Jasmijn Muller (Born to Bike)         4-32-26

Veterans on std: Peter Greenwood (Team Swift) (4-04-33) +1-12-56