farnborough & camberley cycling club

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 17-Dec-16
  • Time: 10:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: h10/8
  • Closing Date: 06-Dec-16 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Dead heat in the Farnborough and Camberley 10

  • Published: 18 Dec 16
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+

There was a tie for top spot in the Farnborough and Camberley CC 10-mile time trial, with Peter Harrison (AS Test Team) and Rob Sharland (Paceline RT) both covering the H10/8 course near Bentley in Hampshire in an impressive 19.10.


The duo were the fastest of five riders to go under the 20-minute mark on a foggy and damp day. The start of the event was delayed by half an hour to try to give the fog time to lift, but it proved in vain and most of the riders had to battle through it.


Behind Sharland and Harrison, Lewis Keightley (Team Bottrill) clocked 19-36 for third spot, while Pat Wright (Paceline RT) was fourth, 43 seconds behind the winners.


Kate Allan (drag2zero) was the fastest of the women, her time of 21.19 being more than a minute ahead of Joscelin Lowden (Lewes Wanderers CC) in second, while Christine Rowley (Poole Wheelers) was third with 22.51 and the best veteran on standard with a plus of 5.57.


For Harrison, the Farnborough and Camberley CC 10 was somewhat shorter than his usual distances. Over the course of the season he rode to victory in the Yorkshire RC 50 in September, as well as the Newbury Road Club 12-hour in June.


Sharland’s joint win with Harrison was by no means the first time he has tasted victory in what has been a successful 2016, but he is more used to shorter distances than Harrison.


He won the Utag 10 in August, as well as the Hounslow and District Wheelers 25 in July. He rode to victory in the North Hampshire RC 10 on the same Bentley course back in June, where he clocked 19.08.


As well as riders from AS Test Team and Paceline being very close in the solo category, they were also close in the team prize. AS Test Team edged to a narrow victory by just 13 seconds, with harrison being joined by David Woodhouse and Paul Elcock. That trio proved slightly quicker than the Paceline trio of Rob Sharland, Pat Wright and Keith Lea.


The tandem event attracted nine pairs, and the fastest was Addiscombe CC duo Jonathan Pontin and Ian Bray with 20.19.


Blazing Saddles rider Andy Langdown clocked 20.31 to win the prize for fastest veteran on actual time by five seconds from Keith Lea (Paceline RT), with Andy Smith (VC St Raphael0 being third, another ten seconds back.


While Christine Rowley (Poole Wheelers) was the fastest veteran on standard, just 11 seconds back with +5.46 was Les Lidiard (Team Jewson MI Racing), while Steven Cottington (Bath CC) was third in that category.


* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.




=1. Peter Harrison (AS Test Team)     19.10

=1. Rob Sharland (Paceline RT)         19.10

3. Lewis Keightley (Team Bottrill)     19.36

4. Pat Wright (Paceline RT)    19.53


1. Kate Allan (Drag2zero)       21.19

2. Joscelin Lowden (Lewes Wanderers)         22.35

3. Christine Rowley (Poole Wheelers)            22.51

Tandems: Jonathan Pontin and Ian Bray (Addiscombe CC)  20.19

Team: AS Test Team (Peter Harrison, David Woodhouse 20.09, Paul Elcock 20-07) 59.26.

Veterans on actual time:

1. Andy Langdown (Blazing Saddles)           20.31

2. Keith Lea (Paceline RT)      20.36

3. Andy Smith (VC St Raphael)         20.46

Veterans on standard:

1. Christine Rowley (Poole Wheelers) (22.51)           +5.57

2. Les Liddiard (Team Jewson-MI Racing) (21.52)   +5.46

3. Steven Cottington (Bath CC) (21.35)        +5.29

Lanterne Rouge: Chris Brewer (Redmon CC)           36.44