chorley cycling club

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 06-Aug-16
  • Time: 18:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: L101
  • Closing Date: 26-Jul-16 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Course record improved by James Gullen at Chorley CC 10

  • Published: 07 Aug 16
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+

James Gullen (Pedal Heaven RT) broke his own course record for the L101 in Lancashire as he powered to a convincing victory in the Chorley CC 10-mile event near Garstang on Saturday.

The 26-year-old from Yorkshire – who now lives in Lancaster – had set a new mark for the L101 earlier this season when he clocked 19.17, but he sliced another 26 seconds from that time, winning the Chorley CC event with 18.51 despite conditions not being perfect.

Some riders had to contend with showers, and although this had stopped by the time Gullen hit the road, there was still a side wind on the slightly longer return leg and a few parts of the course which have recently had a surface dressing and are still seeing some lose chippings.

Gullen went home £210 richer, with £60 for winning the event and £150 for breaking the course record.

North Lancs Road Club rider Mark Haydock took second with 20.42, while seven seconds behind him was Tom Rigby (Preston Tri).

Hope Kerry (Lancashire Road Club) was the fastest female, clocking 24.40 to win by 23 seconds from Heather Bamforth.

Lancaster CC were the winning team, with Thomas Brook, David Chell and Jeff Carnett making up the winning trio, while top junior was Andrew Hathaway (Lancashire RC) with 24.09.

The event was Chorley CC’s first open time trial in more than 50 years, having disbanded in the 1950s and been reformed four years ago.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



1. James Gullen (Pedal Heaven RT)   18.51 (course record)

2. Mark Haydock (North Lancs RC)  20.42

3. Tom Rigby (Preston Tri)      20.49

4. Richard Bickley (Border City Wheelers)    20.55

5. Paul Fleming (Preston Wheelers)    21.18

6. Philip Jones (Preston CC)   21.21

7. Jimmy Wright (Preston Wheelers)  21.28

8. Thomas Brook (Lancaster CC)       21.30

9. Paul Shallicker (          21.43

10. Greg Plummer (Springfield Financial)      21.49


1. Hope Kerry (Lancashire RC)          24.40

2. Heather Bamforth (Racing Chance Foundation)    25.03

3. Caroline Leighton (Lancashire RC)            25.39

Juniors: Andrew Hathaway (Lancashire RC  24.09

Veterans: Paul Shallicker

Team: Lancaster CC (Brook, Chell, Carnett) 1:07.09.