rttc national championship (mersey roads club) (entries close 28/06/16)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 23-Jul-16
  • Time: 13:00
  • Distance: 24 Miles
  • Course: d24hr
  • Closing Date: 28-Jun-16 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

No Course Map

If you have a map of this course, please email courses@cyclingtimetrials.org.uk

Defending champions Broadwith and Biddulph retain titles

  • Published: 24 Jul 16
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+

aDefending champions Michael Broadwith (Arctic Tacx) and Lynne Biddulph (Born to Bike-Bridgtown Cycles) both successfully defended their titles as the 2016 National 24-Hour Championships were staged by Mersey Roads Club.

Broadwith provisionally clocked 535.04 to win by almost 25 miles from team-mate Jonathan Shubert, while Victor Chetta (Mid-Shropshire Wheelers) took third.

With another Arctic Tacx rider Tim Bayley finishing fourth, they stormed to a new national competition record, adding over 112 miles to the 36-year-old previous record held by North Staffs St Christophers CC.

And Biddulph, who provisionally covered 420.29 miles, took the win by around ten miles from her nearest rival to secure her seventh National 24-hour title in 12 years.

“It was too hot for me this weekend,” admitted Broadwith. “I preferred last year when it was wet and cold! I was overheating and left my helmet on for too long I think.

“I went through an emotional time in the night and thought about throwing it in, but I carried and I’m glad I did. I’m delighted the team achieved our aim of a new comp record – the other guys dug very deep to do it.”

And Biddulph – who had banged her shin a couple of weeks previously – said: “My shin was playing up a lot, and I felt I might have to stop, but decided to carry on for the team.”

While Biddulph led the women’s event virtually from start to finish, the men’s event saw the lead change hands with Shubert leading at the 100-mile mark. After 12 hours Broadwith and Bayley were almost neck and neck, before Bayley dropped away to leave Broadwith out in front.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.


Provisional results:


1. Michael Broadwith (Arctic Tacx)   535.04 miles

2. Jonathan Shubert (Arctic Tacx) 510.23

3. Victor Chetta (Mid-Shropshire Wh)           509.67

4. Tim Bayley (Arctic Tacx) 508.91

Team: Arctic Tacx (new competition record) 1554.18 miles


1. Lynne Biddulph (Born to Bike-Bridgtown Cycles)           420.29 miles

2. Emma Richardson (Audlem CC)    410.01

3. Janet Fairclough (St Helens CRC)  376.25