port talbot whs (2 -up ttt)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 13-Mar-16
  • Time: 10:00
  • Distance: 25 Miles
  • Course: R25/24
  • Closing Date: 01-Mar-16 23:59
  • Categories:
    • All Youth
    • All Junior
    • All Espoir
    • All Senior
    • All Veteran
    • All Para

Gambling and Jones take narrow two-up win in Wales

  • Published: 16 Mar 16
  • Written By: David Greenwood
F | T | G+


Fourth in the same event last year, Richard Gambling (Port Talbot Wheelers) and Chris Jones (Bike Wales) stormed to victory in the Port Talbot Wheelers two-up 25-mile time trial on the R25/24 near Resolven, Neath, on Sunday.

The duo, 43 and 46 years old respectively, clocked 55.14 which was almost five minutes quicker than their time 12 months previously, and was good enough for the win by just four seconds in a challenging field of quality riders.

Second spot went to the Bynea CC pair of Chris Gibbard and Philip Tucker, while the third-placed team of Nic Cleave and Trevor Lloyd (Swansea Wheelers) were more than three minutes further off the pace.

There were several all-female teams taking part, and the fastest was the Bynea CC duo of Gaynor Hughes and Sarah Rees who clocked 1-16-41 to win by 44 seconds from Katie Greenwood and Mhairi-Clair Stewart (Cardiff Triathletes).

The challenging course takes riders from Resolven to Aberdulais and Blaegwrach along the B4242.

  • All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.


Overall Name Club Actual Time

1 Richard Gambling Port Talbot Whs CC 55:14

Christopher Jones Ride Bike Wales

2 Christopher Gibbard Bynea Cycling Club 55:18

Philip Tucker Bynea Cycling Club

3 Nic Cleave Swansea Wheelers/CS Abertawe 58:31

Trevor Lloyd Swansea Wheelers/CS Abertawe

4 Daniel Gough Swansea University Road Team 58:45

Gethin Llewelyn Swansea University Road Team

5 Will Bevan Ross on Wye & Dist CC 59:01

Paul Stephens Ross on Wye & Dist CC

6 David Brice Bynea Cycling Club 59:20

Emyr Griffiths Bynea Cycling Club

7 Simon Garrett Worcester St. Johns CC 59:33

Steve Clarke Worcester St. Johns CC

8 Nigel Taylor Cardiff Triathletes 1:00:19

James Manon Cardiff Triathletes

9 David Wilson-Evans Bynea Cycling Club 1:00:48

Stuart Evans Bynea Cycling Club

10 Jim Curry Performance Cycles CC 1:01:12

Chris Beardshaw Performance Cycles CC

11 Robert Saunders North Bucks RC 1:01:14

Gerard Oram Bynea Cycling Club

12 Oliver Jenkins Cardiff Triathletes 1:01:21

Elliot Dudley Cwmcarn Paragon Road Club

13 Neil Richards Pontypool RCC 1:01:41

Wayne Thomas Pontypool RCC

14 Neil Poulton Ogmore Valley Whs 1:02:44

Gareth Poulton M&D Fusion RT/Gearclub/Worx

15 Morgan Hendry Port Talbot Whs CC 1:02:45

Curtis Stacey Forza Cycles

16 Gary Jones Pontypool RCC 1:02:50

Alistair James Morgan Pontypool RCC

17 Kevin Bartlemore Acme Wheelers 1:03:24

Carl Banwell Acme Wheelers

18 Geraint Evans Port Talbot Whs CC 1:04:12

Les Thomas Port Talbot Whs CC

19 Roger Wood Pontypool RCC 1:04:32

Jason Killiner Pontypool RCC

20 Chris Massey Team Bottrill 1:04:45

Andrew Hayward Cwmcarn Paragon Road Club

21 Bob Jones Cardiff 100 Miles RCC 1:04:45

diccon hill Cardiff 100 Miles RCC

22 Owen Thomas Bynea Cycling Club 1:04:51

Karl Harry Bynea Cycling Club

23 Adam Fletcher Cardiff Triathletes 1:05:49

Ricki Morgan Cardiff Triathletes

24 Jason Roberts Bynea Cycling Club 1:06:41

James Alford Bynea Cycling Club

25 Martin Regan Pontypool RCC 1:07:07

Nick Hughes Pontypool RCC

26 Dean David Bynea Cycling Club 1:07:37

Dean Hardie Bynea Cycling Club

27 Iwan Jones Cardiff Triathletes 1:07:40

Paul Evans Cardiff Triathletes

28 Thomas Ian Morgan Port Talbot Whs CC 1:08:07

Heath Williams Port Talbot Whs CC

29 Morgan Ley Port Talbot Whs CC 1:08:39

David Hendry Port Talbot Whs CC

30 Mike Lindsay Wills Wheels CC 1:08:46

Kirsty Murray Pembrokeshire Velo

31 Lee-Michelle Jones Bynea Cycling Club 1:08:54

Wayne Jones Bynea Cycling Club

32 Rodney Savage Cardiff Triathletes 1:09:09

Cain Thomas Cardiff Triathletes

33 Dave Preece Cwmcarn Paragon Road Club 1:09:38

Ross Phillips Cwmcarn Paragon Road Club

34 Stuart Baker Cardiff Triathletes 1:10:24

Claire Manson Cardiff Triathletes

35 Nigel Pitt Bynea Cycling Club 1:10:26

Yeung ng Bynea Cycling Club

36 Richard Bushell Cardiff Triathletes 1:10:50

Rob Gunney Cardiff Triathletes

37 Stuart Edgar Cardiff Triathletes 1:11:59

David Mort Cardiff Triathletes

38 Tom Hodson Cardiff Triathletes 1:12:07

Gareth Thomas Cardiff Triathletes

39 Alan Morgan Bynea Cycling Club 1:15:09

Aneurin Thomas Bynea Cycling Club

40 Josh Townsend Bynea Cycling Club 1:15:37

Richard Smith Bynea Cycling Club

41 Gaynor Hughes Bynea Cycling Club 1:16:41

Sarah Rees Bynea Cycling Club

42 Katie Greenwood Cardiff Triathletes 1:17:25

Mhairi-Clair Stewart Cardiff Triathletes

43 Anne Learmonth Port Talbot Whs CC 1:17:33

chris Asher VC 167

44 Hannah Buckingham Cardiff Triathletes 1:21:01

Michelle McCully Cardiff Triathletes

45 John Shehan Bynea Cycling Club 1:23:14

John Evans Bynea Cycling Club

46 bev lewis Cardiff Triathletes 1:23:25

Tej Quine Cardiff Triathletes

47 Katie Bowler Bynea Cycling Club 1:24:34

Mandy Jack Bynea Cycling Club

48 Nic Forbes Bynea Cycling Club 1:24:42

Kelly Rowland Bynea Cycling Club

49 Charlotte Jennings Bynea Cycling Club 1:25:25

Daisy Williams Bynea Cycling Club

50 Andrew Grist Bynea Cycling Club 1:25:28

Karen Dusgate Bynea Cycling Club

51 Jezzelle Lobeck Cardiff Triathletes 1:31:24

Lucy Sullivan Cardiff Triathletes

52 John Smith Cardiff Triathletes 1:35:30

Laura Jones Cardiff Triathletes

53 Richard Harris Cardiff Triathletes 1:46:17

Neil Driscoll Cardiff Triathletes