NEWS: Classic Series returns for 2024

Share this post:

The Cycling Time Trials Classic Series returns this year with six rounds providing tough challenges for competitors across the categories.

Whether competing on a time trial bike or a road bike, the six courses will test the ability of riders over varied terrain and will provide worthy winners.

Sotonia CC will re-introduce their sporting event for the opening round which takes place on March 17.

The 14.6-mile event in Wiltshire features a mixture of classified and minor roads before a climb to the finish on Black Bush Plain.

Sotonia CC last used the sporting course for an open event in 2018 with James Boyman (32-49) and Faye Faber (39-56) posting the men’s and women’s course records two years earlier.

Two weeks later (March 29) the series moves on for a traditional round on the Buxton CC/Sett Valley Cycles Mountain Time Trial.

John Archibald

The open category will see riders competing over 33 miles (three laps) while the women and juniors complete two laps (22 miles) of the challenging circuit which verges onto the South Pennine Moors.

John Archibald (HUUB WattShop) won last year’s event in 1-16-36, while Hayley Simmonds holds the women’s course record of 59-11 (two laps) in 2018.

Another traditional round of the series will see the Beacon RCC Little Mountain Time Trial take place this year on April 21.

All competitors take on the 39-mile course with a gruelling section into Herefordshire taking place in the second half.

Archibald won last year’s event in a course record time of 1-27-10, while Claire Rose holds the women’s course benchmark of 1-43-32.

Last season’s road bike category winner was Gerhard Cristin Moldansky (University of Birmingham CC) in 1-41-06 and the women’s was Celia Brown (Beacon Roads CC) in 1-57-59.

The Tour of Meldons, organised by Edinburgh Road Club, is a classic on the Scottish calendar and returns for round four on May 5.

Time trials have been raced over the climbs of Shiplaw and the Meldons since the 1930s.

The Meldons Trophy, dedicated to the memory of the race’s founder Jim Wight, was won by Archibald last year who posted a winning time of 46-39 over the 22.2-mile course. Jennifer George (HUUB WattShop) recorded an average speed of over 24.1 miles per hour to win the women’s event in 55-13.

Chris Booth ( was the quickest road bike in last year’s event stopping the clock in 53-08, and veteran Sharon Bird (Peebles Cycling Club) the fastest woman (1-00-03).

The penultimate round takes competitors to the far south-west of the country with the S53/29 course near Penzance being used for an open event for the first time.

Rachel Brown

Starting outside Land’s End on the A30, competitors tackle just under two laps of a course with two ascents from the “Mount Misery” roundabout, a total distance of 29 miles.

The final round hosted by Border City Wheelers also incorporates the RTTC National Circuit Championship.

The Circuit of Greystoke course has hosted Classic Series events many times with competitors completing two laps (28 miles). Archibald won last year’s men’s event in 1-00-02, while Rachel Brown posted 1-18-02 to win the women’s category in 2022.

Chris Booth ( was last year’s fastest road bike in 1-09-01 and junior Sophie Heighton (Ferryhill Whs) was the best female in 1-38-00.

* All reports and features are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.