PREVIEWS: September 4-5

Share this post:

The fastest junior and juvenile riders from across the country will gather for the National Youth Championships final on Saturday, one of many events over the weekend.

Reigning girls champion Isabel Sharp (Drag2Zero) is returning for the event over 10 miles on the Mallory Park closed circuit in Leicestershire.

Sharp clocked a time of 22-36 to win the South DC qualifying event in June and is targeting honours again.

In the boys’ event junior Mattie Dodd clocked 18-35 in the Hemel Hempstead 10 in June and is looking for his first national open time trial title.

He will face stiff competition from National Junior 25-mile Champion Jacob Bush (Bourne Wheelers) who finished second in last year’s event.

Juvenile Finlay Tarling (WORX Factory Racing Powered by Silverstone) is amongst those who could also challenge for the title.

With just a week until the National 10 Mile Championships a host of contenders will be looking to land a mental blow at the Utag RT 10 on the P881R near Farnham.

Hayley Simmonds

Veteran Christopher McNamara (Nuun-Sigma Sport-London RT) starts as last man having won 10 events already this season including the Epsom 10 on his last outing in 19-14.

However, favourite will be newly crowned National 50 Mile Champion Christopher Fennell (The Independent Pedaler – Nopinz).

Amongst the other challengers are Samuel Wadsley (Primera-Teamjobs), Liam Maybank (Twickenham CC) and Josh Copley (TBW23 Stuart Hall Cycling P/B Trainsharp).

Alice Lethbridge (Drag2Zero) is due to start last woman having clocked 20-47 in the Hemel Hempstead 10 earlier this season.

Jennifer George (The Independent Pedaler – Nopinz) finished third in last week’s National 50-mile Championship and will provide a tough challenge along with Faye Faber (CycleCoach.Com).

Also looking to refine her form ahead of the National 10 is National 25 champion Hayley Simmonds (CAMS Racing) who will be looking to set more records in the road bike category.

Kick-starting the weekend of events on Saturday morning is the Velopreda (Georgetown Cup) near Glasgow in Scotland.

The event which has seen 180 entrants is an inter club challenge awarded to the cycling club team with the fastest eight riders on combined time.

After winning the National 50 Mile Championship last weekend Joanna Patterson (The Independent Pedaler – Nopinz) will be looking for a fast individual time over the 7.5-mile course.

With the arrival of September the hill climb season is starting to gain momentum with the Dursley RC hill climb taking place on Saturday at Stouts Hill.

Despite a steady start the climb kicks up between 13-15% before a long straight through a wooded section with the climb 1.6 kilometres in total.

Josh Coyne (Bpm Coaching) starts as scratch rider having recorded a time of 4-45 on the climb on Strava.

After winning the Sheffrec CC hill climb last month Madeleine Hayward (Team Watto) starts as last woman.

Bithja Jones

She will face competition from road rider Illi Gardner (CAMS Racing) amongst others.

Reigning women’s National Hill Climb Champion Bithja Jones (Pankhurst Cycles) starts her hill climb campaign where she ended her last year’s season.

Last year’s championship hill Streatley hosts the Reading Cycling Club hill climb over 0.5 miles with an average gradient of 13%.

Meanwhile, in the men’s event Frazier Carr (Spirit Tifosi RT) starts as scratch rider.

Taking place in the North East is the Team Bikestop Tyrekey event on Billy Lane over 1.76 kilometres with a gradient of 7.4%.

Veteran woman Mary Wilkinson (Yorkshire Road Club) starts as last rider and will have competition from Hannah Farran (Team Boompods) and Joanna Blackburn (Team Bottrill) as well as others.

A competitive field will line up for the Holly Lane hill climb hosted by Ilkeston Cycle Club in Derbyshire.

Tom Bell (High North Performance) finished second in last year’s National Hill Climb Championships and starts as scratch rider in his opening ride of the season.

He will face tough opposition from former National Hill Climb champion Adam Kenway (Team Brother UK), Leon Wright (Race Hub) and Alastair Ribbands (Manchester Wheelers) amongst others.

Becky Hair (Magspeed Racing) starts as last woman having won the Peak RC HC but will face competition from Maddi Smith (Bolsover And District CC).

A massive field of 144 riders will be hoping for perfect conditions to target personal best times in Icknield RC 10 charity event along the F11/10 for riders slower than 22-00.

Also looking to finish the season with a bang are the 150 riders listed to compete in Saturday’s East Anglian VTTA 10.

James Jenkins (Richardsons-Trek RT) starts as last man having won the Maldon & District CC 10 and finishing second in the Lea Valley CC 10 despite clocking a time of 18-19 in July.

Also looking to target scratch honours is George Fox (George Fox Cycling Solutions) and Tom Ward (AeroLab Ward WheelZ).

However, the trio will not qualify for veteran awards with 60-year-old Tim Hood (Team Bottrill) amongst the veterans hoping to record a good standard.

The women’s field includes Victoria Smith (Aerocoach) looking for scratch victory while Jennifer Clegg (Team Bottrill), Jackie Field (CC Ashwell) and Hannah O’Brien (Loose Cannon's Conditioning) will be hoping for veteran’s prizes.

The following day Keith Ainsworth (Sheffrec CC) will be looking to add another title to his collection when he starts as scratch man in the VTTA National 25 Championship in Shropshire.

The 62-year-old is reigning champion having won the title last year clocking 50-20 with a standard of +20.10.

Keith Ainsworth

Ainsworth also won the VTTA National 30 on standard last month with his 1-06-39 equating to a standard of +19.09.

Amongst his challengers on this occasion will be Richard Oakes (Team Ohten Aveas) and early starter Victor Chetta (Pirate Juice CC).

Looking to continue her emphatic season full of records and titles in scratch rider in the women’s event Angela Carpenter (…a3crg).

The 52-year-old was a clear winner in last month’s VTTA National 30 with a time of 1-07-30 which equated to +22.44 which was the best standard overall.

Deborah Moss (Team Merlin) and Sue Cheetham (North Lancashire Road Club) are amongst those also targeting success.

Also looking to continue their dominant season in the tandem competition are Newbury Velo duo Ian Greensteet and Rachael Elliott.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.