Roundup 14/15 May

Share this post:


For a change we start with the 10-mile time trials. Army Captain Ryan Perry (Langdale Lightweight) joined the 17 minute club when he won the City RC Hull event with a 17-53 on a far from good day. George Evans (Team Bottrill), 19-27, and Jamie Haines (Melton Olympic), 19-35, rounded out the top three. Michelle Sneddon (TORQ Performance) clocked a 22-06, fastest of the women.


National 10-mile Champion Richard Bussell (Aero Coach) rode to a course record 19-03 to take the Beacon Roads CC `10`, 1-10 too good for Jon Simpkins (drag2zero). Scott Walker (Team Bottrill) was third with his 20-36 while Fiona Prew (Pro Vision Cycle Clothing) and Jessice Rhodes Jones of the promoting club tied with a 23-42 for the woman's prize.
Bussell followed that up with second place in the Mid Shropshire Wheelers `50` won by John Dewey (Team Bottrill) with a 1-44-46. Bussell returned a 1-46-30 while Derek Parkinson (Springfield Financial) was third, 1-50-38, with the best woman Rachel Gorman (Liverpool Phoenix) with a 2-14-24.


The Peterborough CC made a near clean sweep of their open `10` taking first and third places plus the women's award thanks to James Gelsthorpe, 21-28, Malcolm Smith, 21-54, and  Claire Steels, 25-09. Mick Hodson (St Ives CC) provided the filling in the Peterborough sandwich with his second place 21-48. 


The VTTA (South Wales) 10-mile time trial fell to Matt Burden (73 Degrees Bicycle) with a 19-42 ahead of James Rix (Crawley Wheelers), 20-05, and Lee Morgan (Team Bottrill), 20-16, with Michelle Robertson (Abercynon RC) best of the women with 24-44.

This takes us nicely on to the `25s` where James Rix remained in Wales to finish fourth in Sunday's Sportzmad promotion won by Kieron Davies (drag2zero) his 46-32 well clear of Justin Layne (CC Ashwell), 49-18, and David Woodhouse (GS Henley). 49-20. Rix finished with a 50-01. The overflow event saw Eugene Cross (SSLL RT) winning with a 51-59 while the first woman was Faye Faber (Isle Of Wight CC), 56-48.


Philip Graves (Clifton CC York) continues his winning notching up win number 13 in the South Pennine Rc `25`, a 46-28 putting him ahead of Steve Irwin (North Lancs RC), 47-19, and Joshua Williams (Team Bottrill), 47-40, Brett Harwood (Terry Wright Cycles), 47-56, and Charles Taylor (Team Bottrill), 48-23. A rapid 51-59 won Angela Hibbs (Fusion RT) the woman's prize. It was a close run thing in the St Austell Wheelers `25` in Cornwall where Dean Robson (Nopinz) won by two seconds from Conrad Moss (Mid Devon CC) with his 50-48. Crystal Spearman added to Nopinz tally by taking the woman's top spot with her 59-51. 

Fareham Wheelers pulled off the old 1-2 in the Sotonia CC event thanks to James Copeland, 53-39, and Gary Chambers, 54-36. Ashley Cox (CC Luton) had a runaway win in the North Road CC's `25`, a 51-19 leaving Luke Clarke (TMG Horizon CT) 3-24 off of his pace. Cox, it will be remembered won the North Road's Hardriders `25` a few years ago.


Liam Maybank (Twickenham CC) turned the tables on 2015 winner David McGaw (Cambridge CC) to win the Eastern Counties CA 50-mile time trial. Last year Maybank was second to McGaw this time a 1-39-41 earned him top spot ahead of David Longlands (Fenland Clarion), 1-41-44, and McGaw, 1-41-18. Mary Bower (Chelmer CC), 1-58-07, was fastest woman.


OneProCycling professional Richard Handley showed that he is feeling the benefit of a lot of recent foreign stage races by winning the Tynside Vagabonds Mountain Time Trial for a second time. A winner back in 2012 with a 1-55-02 Handley came home in 1-51-50 this time to win by 2-16 from Carl Donaldson (GS Metro). The final podium place was taken by Matt Moorhouse (Preston CC) with a 1-55-34. Bishop Auckland's Fiona Blackett covered the 47 miles in 2-24-15, first woman.