Don't Look Back in Anger: This time last year

Share this post:

Vicky Gill (DRAG2ZERO) and Marcin Bialoblocki (NOPINZ) were celebrating national honours this time 12 months ago after perfect conditions greeted them for the National 100-Mile Time Trial Championship.

It was a first National 100 crown for Gill and she turned the tables on team-mate Alice Lethbridge, who had beaten her the previous year.

Tough road conditions on the course near Ripon didn’t faze Gill who went out fastest and then held onto her advantage.

Her time of 4-02-12 beat Lethbridge by three minutes while Alex Clay (AeroLab Ward Wheelz) completed the podium.

Meanwhile, Bialoblocki continued his domination over the longer distances adding the crown to his National 50-mile title won the previous weekend.

Tom Ward

His staggering time of 3-24-55 was over nine minutes quicker than his nearest rival.

Under-23 rider Adam Wild (GS Metro) led the rest of the field home taking second while Arthur Franklin (Portishead CC) completed the top three.

Meanwhile, in Wales, Tom Ward (AeroLab Ward Wheelz) added another crown to his trophy cabinet by adding the Welsh 30-Mile Championships to his palmarès.

Ward, who had also won the Welsh CA 25 title earlier that year, set a winning time of 59 minutes and 28 seconds.

Veteran rider Conrad Moss (NOPINZ) pushed his rival all the way but eventually settled for second some six seconds back while Chris Gibbard (Bynea Cycling Club) completed the men’s podium.

Stephanie Post (Team Bottrill) also added the 30 to her Welsh 25 title in the women’s event clocking a winning time of 1-04-53.

It was a day for the experienced riders as veteran Chris McNamara (Nuun-Sigma Sport) took top spot in the Crawley Wheelers 10 near Steyning.

The scratch rider and was the only one to dip below the 20-minute mark to clinch top spot in 19-49.

Matthew Smith (Team ASL) took second while trainSharp team-mates Conall Yates and Peter Tadros shared third place after both finishing in 20.46.

Stephanie Post

Sally Turner took a clear win in the women’s event on a good day for her team, trainSharp, setting an unbeatable time of 22-22.

Elsewhere, veteran Daniel Northover took a home victory for the organising club at the Finsbury Park CC 50.

Despite having to tackle two sharp climbs on the Bedfordshire course Northover still managed to clock a personal best time of 1-41-20 as good conditions favoured riders out and back along the A1.

Ross Clarke (TMG Horizon Cycling Team) finished second again on the course just 31 seconds back while brother Luke Clarke completed the top three.

Fastest woman was Annette Lacey (Hemel Hempstead CC) in 2-37-16.

In the North West, Lindsey Styler and Phil Ellison took their first victories of the season in the Liverpool Phoenix CC 25-mile time trial.

Despite having limited time trial performances that season Thatto Cycles RT rider Ellison took the win by over a minute in 53-37.

Ian Lawton (Mersey Tri) had to settle for second once again in 54-42 while Adrian Hughes (Seamons CC) finished third, a further minute back.

Croston Velo rider Style conquered the undulating course in 1-01-17 to take a commanding win by over five minutes.

Finally, the Lincoln Wheelers charity 10-mile time trial near Ingham combined the district heats of the National Youth Championship.

Setting a new event record of 20-11 Roland Kiraly (Velo One CT) took stop but was pushed all the way by Billy Jarish (Rose Race Team) five seconds adrift while Ian Guilor (Mapperley CC) finished third.

Meanwhile, veteran Kerry Tate (Newmarket Cycling & Triathlon Club) was quickest woman clocking 27-20.

The event was the Lincolnshire District round of the National Youth Championships, and fastest in that was 14-year-old Dan Galpin (Bourne Wheelers) with 22-56.

Bryn Richards (Bourne Wheelers) was second and the 16-year-old also qualified for the national round.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission. BG