Don't Look Back in Anger: This time last year

Share this post:

National titles were up for grabs this time 12 months ago with the National Circuit and VTTA 25 honours decided.

Kelly Murphy (Storey Racing) had a day to remember as she took her first national title and clinched the Sigma Sport Classic Series overall title.

Murphy completed one lap of the 19.5-mile course circuit near Marshfield in Gloucestershire in an unassailable time of 46 minutes and 26 seconds to take top spot.

The men’s event saw the formidable force of Marcin Bialoblocki (NOPINZ) adding the Circuit title to his palmarès completing two laps of the circuit in 1-20-40.

Kevin Tye

Behind the Polish winner there was pulsating battle for the podium places along with Sigma Sport Classic honours, as the race doubled up as the last round of the series.

Phil Williams (Liverpool Phoenix CC) finished second on the day in 1-23-49 but fell one point short of the series win.

Series honours went to Adam Wild (GS Metro) whose fourth place in 1-25-02 was just enough.

Third place on the day was taken by Rupert Graham (Spirit Tifosi RT) with a creditable time of 1-24-30.

Meanwhile, the veterans headed down to Cambridgeshire to battle for national 25 medals on the E2/25.

Angela Carpenter (a3crg) took the woman’s title with the fastest time on scratch (55-52) and standard while Kevin Tye ( was the quickest male veteran on standard to take the honours.

Despite windy conditions which were thought to add three minutes onto most times mixed tandem pairing Rachael Elliott (Newbury RC) & Ian Greenstreet (AeroCoach) set a new national competition record of 47-09.

James Rix (Team Bottrill) 48-07 was the quickest rider on scratch ahead of Mark Smith (Crawley Whls) a further 26 seconds back and Andy Jackson (AeroCoach) in third (48.54).

At the opposite end of the country Mark Robertson (Army Cycling) was in dominant form at the Allen Valley Velo 24.8-mile event near Allendale, in Northumberland.

His time of 1-08-06 was over two minutes clear of his challengers despite riding a road bike and he was only 21 seconds short of the course record.

Also riding a road bike to victory was women’s winner Jennifer Batey (Team Boompods) who conquered the course’s three climbs to finish in 1-24-37.

Former Olympic and World track cycling champion Steven Burke (Wallis Cycles RT) blitzed his opposition in the Southport CC 10.

Taking his first win of the season in style Burke flew around the newly used D33/10 to set a benchmark course record of 19-51.

Madeleine Scott

Meanwhile, Madeleine Scott (Kuota Synergy RT) took the women’s victory clocking 23-36.

Chris Fennell (The Independent Pedalar) had a ride to remember when he beat Graeme Obree’s 26-year-old course record in the Thanet RC 10.

Fennell clocked a time of 18-04 on the the Q10/30 course near Reculver, beating Obree’s long-standing record by 23 seconds.

It was another golden day for The Independent Pedalar team as Emma Lewis took top step in the women’s event clocking a rapid 19-51.

Great Britain triathlete Allison Kaye showed the strength of her bike leg by narrowly winning the Aylesbury CC 10 by two seconds.

Veteran Kaye covered the course near Princes Risborough in 30-34 and narrowly beat Samantha Messenger (Bicester Millennium CC).

Espoir rider Joshua Avery (Vision innovative Leisure RT) showed his talent by taking the men’s victory on his local course clocking 22-13 and beating the experience of Pete Tadros (trainSharp) by 10 seconds. 

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission. BG