Don't Look Back in Anger: This time last year

Share this post:

We might not be able to compete with the Coronavirus lockdown in full swing, but we can look back to what was happening this time last year!

In the latest of a series of features exclusive to the CTT website, we cast our minds back to early May 2019, when the Sigma Sports Classic Time Trial Series headed to Scotland for round four.

The picturesque Castle Douglas provided a superb backdrop for round four of the series, and it was Kyle Gordon who topped the timesheets while Katie Archibald MBE took the women’s prize.

Gordon (RT 23) made the most of an unexpected change in conditions to beat series leader Adam Wild to victory with a time of 54-48 for the 26.3-mile course.

And Archibald comfortably won the women’s category with a time of 1-02-44 which gave her the win by 1-47 from national hill-climb champion Fiona Burnie (GS Metro).

Chris Boddy

In South Wales Chris Boddy (AeroCoach) was a convincing winner of the Sportzmad 10 on the fast R25/3h course in South Wales that weekend.

He covered the Rhigos course in 46-54 to win by 1-21 from Ben Elliot (C and N Cycles), while the fastest woman was another Victoria Smith (AeroCoach) who clocked 52-03 to win by 1-16 from Drag2zero’s Liz Powell.

Mid-Shropshire Wheelers’ 50 was won by Kirk Vickers (Holohan Coaching) who took the win with 1-51-43 in glorious conditions, while Tara Grosvenor (Velo Vitesse) was quickest woman in 2-08-40 on her first attempt at the distance.

Despite breezy conditions the Newbury RC 25 at Padworth in Berkshire saw some fast times, the best of which was Charlie Bailey (Hillingdon Slipstreamers) in 51-59, giving him the win by 26 seconds from Simon Bowler (AS Test Team). Quickest female was Michelle Ayres (South Bucks RC), the 59-year-old covering the H25/1 in 1-05-36.

The Westbury Wheelers 26 at Kilmington was won by James Coleman (Rogue Racing) in 58-55, while Lauren Johnston (Avid Sport) was quickest of the women in 1-06-43.

In North Yorkshire Stephen Ayres (Bronte Wheelers) won the Drighlington BC 25 in a time of 50-14 at Topcliffe, winning by 1-01 from Steven Burke (Team Wallis RT), while the quickest of the women on the V236/1 was Fiona Sharp (Team Swift) in 58-30.

Near Oakford in Devon Josh Coyne (BPM Coaching) was the winner of the Revo Racing 25-mile event. His time of 57-18 gave him the win by nine seconds from Lubos Obornik (CS Dynamo), while Rebecca Cornwall (Taw Velo) was fastest female in 1-04-34.

Derby Mercury Road Club’s Liam Bosley clocked 21-19 to win the Bourne Wheelers 10 near Sleaford on Sunday, just one second ahead of James Ison (Melton Olympic). Team Swift’s Sally Withey was quickest woman in 27-18.

Kerry Gowland

Adam Duggleby was the only rider to go under 20 minutes, while Kerry Gowland won the women’s prize at the Cleveland Wheelers 10-mile time trial in County Durham.

Duggleby, the 35-year-old Vive le Velo rider, bagged his latest win with a time of 19-39 to give him victory by 25 seconds from Keith Murray (Drag2zero), while Gowland (Houghton CC) clocked 24-36 to win the women’s category by almost three minutes from Kate Sanderson (Cleveland Wheelers).

Matt Moorhouse and Anna Turvey were fastest male and female riders respectively at the Border City Wheelers hilly 29-mile time trial in Cumbria.

And former national championship medallist Emily Robertson returned to winning ways as John Wingfield topped the men’s timesheet in the North Road CC 25 in Cambridgeshire.

In Derbyshire Sarah Grant, Leon Wright and George Elliott all broke course records on their way to wins at the South Pennine Road Club 10-mile time trial.

And in Northumberland Venda-Louise Pollock was fastest woman while Michael Gill was overall quickest at the Tyne and Wear Fire Service CC 12-mile time trial near Stamfordham in Northumberland.

* All news items are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission. BG.