Weekend Preview, Feb 22-23 2020

Share this post:

After a double whammy of storms delayed the start of the time trial season, this weekend looks set to provide the first events – and there are some mouth-watering line-ups across the country.

Three events on Saturday and three on Sunday have attracted good fields as riders aim to get their first results of 2020 under their belts.

The North Road CC hardriders 25-mile event in Hertfordshire on Sunday sees 2019 winner Any Pritchard (Giant Camden-Team Liv) return for another shot at the testing course based on Brookmans Park.

Felix Wilkinson

And Lloyd Chapman (Loose Cannon’s Conditioning) is the last man off. Second last year, he will be looking to go one better and repeat his victory in this event in 2017.

While last year’s winner Ollie Jones is absent, Chapman’s victory is not assured with a quality field including Jack Brown (ActiveEdge Race Team) who has a fastest personal best over 25 miles.

Elsewhere on Sunday it’s the Severn RC hardriders 25-mile event in Gloucester with 2019 winner Felix Wilkinson (FTP (Fulfil The Potential) Racing taking part again, as well as 2018 winner Tony Chapman (Frome & District Wheelers).

Last year’s third-place riders in the men’s and women’s categories, Josh Griffiths (Bikestrong-KTM) and Louise Georgi (Giant CC Halo Films) both return to tackle the U17 course near Stone.

The Andover Wheelers 24-mile event boasts a road bike category as well as time trial machines, and used the P614 course near Ludgershall in Wiltshire.

Among the riders tackling the road bike event are Dave Dent (GS Stella), while in the time trial category Matthew Buckley (VC St Raphael) is last man off, while Kirsty McSeveney (a3crg) could challenge for the women’s prize.

Saturday sees Rossendale Road Club host a hilly 10.3-mile event from Bolton by Bowland in Lancashire, which is expected to be keenly contested as ever.

Kirsty McSeveney

Runner-up last year, Richard Bideau (Pendle Forest CC) is last man off, while third place 12 months ago Hayden Allen (PMRR) also rides as does 2019 winner Jan Scotchford (North Lancashire RC) in the women’s category.

Salt and Sham CC stage a 10-mile event near Rangeworthy in Gloucestershire on Saturday, with 2018 winner Josh Griffiths (Bikestrong KTM) hoping to improve on third spot last year.

And in the women’s event 2019 winner Megan Dickerson (Skoda DSI Cycling Academy) is back is search of another win.

Coalville Wheelers also stage a 10-mile event, near Osgathorpe in Leicestershire. Liam Bromiley (Team Lifting Gear Products) won in Coalville Wheelers’ event on this course back in March last year and he returns for another crack, while Loughborough Students CC rider Marinus Petersen was victorious on the same A10/34 course in the same club’s event in February 2019, and he also rides on Saturday.

Full startsheets from these and other events are available on the CTT website. Remember to keep checking back to the CTT website over the weekend for reports and results.

All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.