Preview 9/10 April

Share this post:


The Burton & District CA 25-mile time trial on Sunday sees Philip Graves (Clifton CC York) looking to add to his 2016 tally of wins. The class field also includes Charles Taylor (Team Bottrill), Matt Sinclair (Lutterworth Cycle Centre), Steve Irwin (North Lancs RC), Andy Jackson and Joel Wainman of SSLL RT, and Barry Charlton (swinnerton Cycles). The women's event has Jasmijn Muller and Lynne Biddulph, of Born to Bike-Bridgtown Cycles), Karen Ledger (Langsett Cycles) and Kerry Gowlan returns to time triallingd (Team Bottrill) riding.Last year Matthew Bottrill was the winner, Sinclair was fourth with a 48-38 and Taylor fifth with a 49-53.


On-form Dean Robson (Nopinz) goes for the Bath CC Hilly `24` where he faces National 10-mile and Hill Climb Champion Richard Bussell (AeroCoach), Ben Anstie (73 Degrees Bicycles) and Tavis Walker (VC Walcot) amongst others. Women include Jenny Lee (Yeovil CC) and Jennifer Leman-Hogarth (Velo St Raphael).


Back from the Continent and her road duties with UnitedHealthCare, professional Hayley Simmonds returns to time trialling this weekend when she rides the Acme Wheelers `25` at Hirwaun. Crystal Spearman (Nopinz), Dan Taylor (Acme Wheelers), David Evans (Team Echelon-Rotor) and Chris Holman (Team Bottrill) are also listed.

Mark Arnold (CC Desiragear) heads the entry for the Wolsey RC Pat Pepper Memorial Trophy `25` that also includes Joe Skipper (Rock Estate), Peter Balls (Team Velovelocity), Joe Simons (Brixton CC) and Lucy Charles (Hoddesden Tri Club). Danny Axford (Arctic-Tacx RT) goes for the oxonian CC 36-mille event at Charlbury while the TMG Horizon RT's Clarke's Luke and Ross are down for the Bedfordshire Roads CC `25` as doew Tony Ball (Team Swift).

Veteran Kevin Tye (Velo RefinedAerosmiths) is scratch in the Sydenham Wheelers `25`at Lenham where Peter Tadros (In Gear Quickvit Trainsharp RT), Simon McNamara (South Downs Bikes), Marc Townsend (Neon Velo) and Simon Henderson (Thanet RC) challenge.


Riders are warned to look out for potholes in the Kent Valley RC Spoco `30` at Sedbergh where  Simon Bridge (Manchester BC), Richard Bickley (Border City Wheelers), Paul Shalliker (coveryourcar) and Tony Workman (Lancashire RC) ride. Women include Vanessa Whitfield (Team Racing Chance Foundation). Ravensthorpe CC's Medium Gear `10` has Chris Myhill (Peak RC), Richard Sharp (York Cycleworks), Brian Sunter (Condor RC), Nigel Goscinski (Team Swift) and Kris Atkin (Team Bottrill) in the Solo event. The Tandem event has six machines in action while 12 teams ride the 2-Up.