ROUNDUP 27/28 February

Share this post:


Pedal Heaven RT had a good weekend winning two events thanks to Lloyd Chapman and James Gullen, Chapman taking the classic North Road CC Hardriders 25-mile time trial, ahead of team mate Joe Fry, while Gullen, silver medallist in the 2013 RTTC National Hill Climb Championship, showed the way home in the Rossendale CC Hilly `11.

Chapman stormed round the difficult, hilly North Road Hertfordshire course in 57-55, eight seconds quicker than Fry. Winner on two previous occasions, Ashley Cox (CC Luton) rounded out the top three with a 58-29. Tejvan Pettinger (Sri Chinmoy CT), who beat Gullen for that Hill Climb title was fourth with a 58-49. Jodi Conibear (Hemel Hempstead CC) clocked 1-15-51, best of the women.

Gullen took the Rossendale event with a 23-11 ahead of David Allonby (Springfield Financial), 24-05, and Adam Hartley (PH MAS Cycling). 24-07. Gullen's time was a new course record, improving on Richard Handley's 24-05 in 2008. Border City Wheelers' Carol Westmorland claimed the women's prize with her 31-53.



Tom Brazier (Team Elite-Peter Bethall Electicals) managed two podium places over the weekend finishing second in the Chester RC Hilly `22` and third in the Severn RC `25`. Lyn Jones (EC Cycles) came out on top in the Severn RC promotion with his 57-29, nine seconds faster than Tony Chapman (Frome & District Wheelers) with Brazier home in 58-20. Joanne Jago (Performance Cycles), 1-09-56, was first woman. Barry Charlton (Swinnerton Cycles) beat Brazier by 20 seconds to win the Chester RC Hilly with a 49-33. A 57-17 earned Becky Lewis (Wrexham RC) the women's award. Steven Sage (Tanks Direct Cycling) beat the promoting club's Miles Earl by 61 seconds to take the Plymouth Corinthians CC Hilly 13-mile event with a 29-29 while Paul Walshe (City Cycle Couriers) was just one second further back in third. First woman was Cindy Kellaway-Cole (Plymouth Corinthians CC) with a 42-52.



Down in the West Country, Dean Robson (Nopinz) had a runaway victory in the Lanhydrock Wheelers `22` his 52-38 putting him 2-39 clear of runner up Alessandro Gourley (Penzance Wheelers). Now in Team Bottrill colours, John Dewey topped the result board in the a3crg `10`, a 22-18 giving victory over Rob Sharland (Paceline RT), 22-40, and Peter Tadros (In Gear Quickvit Trainsharp RT), 23-09. A 26-43 was good enough for the promoting club's Simone Dailey to top the women's listing.



Although he admitted to being "a bit race rusty" international Triathlete Philip Graves (Clifton CC York) won the Yorkshire Cycling Federation `10` with a 21-27 from Julian Ramsbottom (Pedal Pushers RT), 22-06, and Dan Taylor (Birdwell Wheelers), 22-27. York Cycleworks' Jessica Bacon was fastest of the women with her 24-59.