ROUNDUP 12/13 March

Share this post:


Pendle Forest CC's Circuit of Ingleborough fell to junior Adam Hartley (PH-MAS Cycling) one year after he had finished fifth to 2015 event winner Tejvan Pettinger. Hartley took 54-48 to cover the 23-mile time trial, shortened from its usual 27 thanks to road works.Third last year, Richard Prideau (Peak Forest CC) improved to to second place with his 55-36, 50 seconds clear of Louis Szymanski (ABC Centreville), who rounded out the leading trio. Mark Haydock (North Lancs RC) deserved the prize for consistency repeating his 2015 placing, seventh. The women's award went to Claire Swoboda (Starley Racing) with a 1-08-07.


Paceline RT produced the old one-two in the East Surrey Hardriders 27.5-mile event with Rob Sharland and Pat Wright repeating the positions they took in this season's Gil Jessop Memorial Sporting `14`. Sharland clocked 59-43, Wright 1-01-02 while Liam Maybank (Twickenham CC) was third with his 1-01-24. As expected Mel Wasley (SSLL RT) topped the women's listing with a 1-10-19.


Former National 12-hour Champion Mark Arnold (CC Desiragear) pulled off a win double over the weekend taking both the Plomesgate CC `10`, which he also won last year, and the CC Sudbury Hilly `22`. A 21-46 in the `10` gave him four seconds in hand over runner up Jim Hardwicke of the promoting club with Matthew Senter (Peterborough CC) in third with 23-06. West Suffolk Wheelers & Tri Club's Tricia Goulden returned a 27-04, fastest woman. Sunday saw Arnold winning the Sudbury event by six seconds from Jason Boutell (Team Velovelocity) while Jim Hardwicke had to settle for third this time with a 51-29.

Gillingham & District Wheelers 19-mile on Saturday saw Matt Burden (Severn RC) beat pre-race favourite Ben Anstie (73 Degrees Bicycles) by 33 seconds with his 43-54. VC Walcot's David Jones got round in 45-01 for third. Jenny Lee (Yeovil CC) was first woman with her 54-27.


A busy weekend for the A5 Rangers CC which kicked off with their 31-mile event won by Andy Jackson (SSLL RT) with a 1-19-26 beating second placed Brett Harwood (Terry Wright Cycles) by 1-28 with Team Bottrill's James Perkins a further 1-41 adrift of the flying Jackson. Gavin Hinxman (Kettering CC) took the 17-mile event on Saturday with a 41-11 and Sunday's `10` with a 22-08. Mark Avil (Baines Racing)was second in the `17` with a 44-33 while Jered Allcock (Banbury Star 1891 CC) was 1-04 down on Hinxman in the `10`, second. The A5 Rangers Medium Gear `10` was won by Richard Hull (Harp CC) with a 26-01.


Team Bottrill dominated the VTTA (North Midlands) `10` filling the first three places thanks to Aaron Ward, 19-38, Elliott Maynard, 19-59, and Daniel Barnett, 20-05. A blast from the past finished in fourth, Kevin Dawson (Elmett CRC), 20-07. Karen Ledger (Langsett Cycles) took the women's honours with her 22-30.


Matt Sinclair (Lutterworth Cycle Centre) showed the way home in the Retford Wheelers `10`, a 19-34 giving him a 1-29 winning margin over Neil Palmer. Dean Robson (Nopinz) continued his current run of wins with success in University Of Bristol CC event with a winning 21-41 while Claire Hann (Bristol & District Triathletes) was best of the women thanks to her 25-26. The Manchester & District TTA `10` fell to Andrew Martin (VCUK Champion System) a 21-44 giving him a slim five seconds beating of Barry Charlton (Swinnerton Cycles).


Philip Graves (Clifton CC York) notched up his third win of the season in Saturday's Malton Wheelers Sledmere Monuments 10.5-mile event with a 22-45.