RTTC National 12 hour Championship preview

Share this post:

One week after the National Circuit Time Trial Championships we have the second of the season’s title races, the RTTC 12-Hour TT National Championship in Hampshire.

 Promoted by the Farnborough & Camberley CC on the A31, near Alton, an excellent field includes many of the 2017 medal winners Richard Bideau (Pendle Forest CC) and Andy Jackson (AeroCoach), second and third respectively and Alice Lethbridge (Drag2Zero) who won the women’s Championship with a Competition Record 285.14 miles. 

Richard Bideau

All of the women team medal winners, Born to Bike-Bridgetown Cycles’ Lynne Biddulph, Katja Reitdorf and Jacqueline Hobson return to defend their title. In all a dozen women are taking part with Crystal Spearman (NOPINZ) and Jackie Field (CC Ashwell) among the challengers. 

Crystal Spearman


Returning to the Men, the multi-talented Adam Duggleby (Vive le Velo) looks to be the number one challenger for that top step of the podium. Last year Duggleby won the CC Breckland `12` with a little over 317 miles.

 Last weekend Duggleby and tandem partner Steve Bate won both the National Para-cycling National time trial and road race championships so the `12` may be a bit of a shock for his system, but he usually rises to the occasion.

Mark Turnbull (TORQ Performance), second in the 2016 Championship, has a useful 312 miles to his credit, and Kieron Davies (Drag2Zero) can both be expected to be in the fray. 

Mark Turnbull

Tandem pair Donald McLean and Mark Leadbetter (Sterling Bike Club) are first off at 7.01 on Sunday morning while Duggleby is last away at 8.20. Event headquarters are at the Alton Assembly Rooms, High Street, Alton, Hampshire GU34 1BA , where refreshments will be available throughout the day.


David Taylor
CTT Publicity officer